Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Blogs > rixhater
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Rating: 15 votes, 2.60 average.

240 gallon reef build

Posted 02/21/2012 at 08:29 PM by rixhater
Tags 240, build, custom, diy, reef

This is my first blog or post. I am new to this so please forgive me for any errors i make with posting. I will try my best to learn this quickley.

I currently have a 90gallon mixed reef with only a few corals and a few fish. I have been wanted to upgrade and go to a larger tank for a long time and have not gone all out crazy with the 90 gallon because i knew i would be upgrading and didnt want to invest in a lot of equipment that would soon change. The 90 gallon has been running a little over a year now without any major issues. About a week or so ago i was scanning through craigslist and found what i thought was a tremendous deal. a 240 gallon acrylic tank, stand (unstaind), canopy(unstained), approx 70-90 gallon sump and a Reeflo external pump for $600. This sounded great to me since i wanted an unstaind stand and canopy to i could stain it the color i wanted. I also liked the sound of the tank being acrylic since i have heard many good things (also some bad) about how clear and big of a difference it is to have acrylic vs glass. so what the hell i'll try it.
As long as i am doing this right here are pics of the 90 gallon
[IMG]http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t448/rixhater/P2120301.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t448/rixhater/P2060278.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t448/rixhater/P2060276.jpg[/IMG]
[url]http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t448/rixhater/P2060269.jpg[/url]