Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Blogs > Cherub's 33 long reef specifications summary.
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Summary of build & stock thread.
Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average.

Cherub's 33 long reef specifications summary.

Posted 02/20/2010 at 05:30 PM by cherubfish pair
Updated 04/21/2011 at 08:51 PM by cherubfish pair (updates)

[INDENT][B]Brief Introduction[/B]
[/INDENT]First I'll say a little about my aquarium keeping experience. I had my first freshwater tank at seven years old. Marine life has been a passion for me all my life and I've been keeping reef tanks since 1999. Reef Central has been a big part of my reef tank journey. This website has been such a learning experience for me and I like this one because it is such a diverse community.

All my tanks have been nanos and due to some moves I have taken some nice ones down. This system here is my most serious setup, has been in the planning stages for two years, and has only been up and running since November 13, 2009.

This is a very unique tank as it's a four foot long nano. It took me over a year to finally decide what dimensions I wanted in my tank. They are 48"x12"x12" and at only 12 inches tall, gas exchange on the surface of the water is greatly increased by the width to height ratio.[INDENT][B]Display Tank[/B]
[/INDENT][LIST][*] glasscages.com custom built all acrylic construction[*] seamless vertical panels with a custom 5"x5" internal overflow[*] upper and lower black frames with cross-braces and top covers[*] I painted the back flat black and bottom gloss white[*]a "nem guard", a closed-loop inlet with a saftey feature[*]modified stockman standpipe through the overflow[*]the sump return line is bulkheaded through the display tank[/LIST] Here is a link to some early modifications to the tank itself.
[URL]http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/album.php?albumid=4274[/URL]

Lighting is very simple right now. Just a 48" T5HO x2 by AquaticLife.