Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Blogs > Thoughts While Watching Paint Dry
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

random observations, thoughts on life, humorous stories....from the studio while I paint.
Rate this Entry

2320, July 26th.

Posted 07/26/2010 at 10:35 PM by superkat

So after pouring out one's heart and soul into something for six months...there's a release when it comes to an end.

I've been involved in theater since I was 5. I've been a professional stage manager for over 20 years. The non-union kind. There's a difference. Union techies find very little passion in their job...I believe my job gives me passion. So I am inclined to work harder and longer at something that gives me so much in return. And as I thought about that tonight...I started looking at my life, and literally dissecting it to find out where else my passion comes from. What other areas, people, places, things, that get my time, give me that same feeling. And I was surprised to see how definitive and SHORT the list was. Which tells me that although there are very few things that bring me to this place of fullfillment, they are significant enough to be all I need. How many times can I go through my day and feel uninspired? That was my question as I began to look back at places in my life that were so full of this "passion" that my heart was bursting at the seams. I am glad I have a place to come to to document this publicly, for those who choose to read and absorb and/or apply these simple insights.