Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   New to the Hobby (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   New setup help. (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2660648)

Park1marine 12/07/2017 09:56 AM

New setup help.

I'm new to marine tanks but have kept fish for over 20 year.
I have converted my fluval 120 planted tank to marine.
I have 12kg of realreef rock which is man made and cured in America I believe. I'm also using a tunze skimmer.

Does anyone know much about cycling the tank with this rock as I have not seen any water test changes at all. I have been feeding flake food for a week. Today I have added a uncooked prawn to see if I get ammonia spike.

Thanks for any advice given.

emilese 12/07/2017 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Park1marine (Post 25296165)
I'm new to marine tanks but have kept fish for over 20 year.
I have converted my fluval 120 planted tank to marine.
I have 12kg of realreef rock which is man made and cured in America I believe. I'm also using a tunze skimmer.

Does anyone know much about cycling the tank with this rock as I have not seen any water test changes at all. I have been feeding flake food for a week. Today I have added a uncooked prawn to see if I get ammonia spike.

Thanks for any advice given.

Welcome to the forum! I don't have any experience with the rock that you described but, a few questions:

How long have you been cycling the tank? Are you using anything else for biological filtration or just the rock?

SAT 12/07/2017 12:34 PM

Park1marine,

To Reef Central
Depending on the composition, your rock may or may not need any curing. If it hasn't been in an aquarium before, I would be worried about incompletely cured cement causing a pH spike, so you should monitor the alkalinity and pH to make sure it seems under control.