Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Other Invertebrates (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=427)
-   -   Inverts dying, why? (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2670687)

Mryin 03/14/2018 08:59 AM

Inverts dying, why?

Hey RC members! I’m new to salt and my tank has been up for almost a year. Recently added some turbo snails, emerald crab, scarlet hermits, and a scarlet cleaner shrimp to my EXISTING clean up crew. Existing CUC is snails and hermits from reefcleaners. After about 2 weeks of adding them I’ve lost all 5 turbos, 4 newly added hermits, and my shrimp. Hermits were out of there shells dead. Shrimp was just dead, no bite marks or injury, and all 5turbos were just dead as well, still inside there shells. What could be causing this? Ammonia and nitrate readings are 0s. Water temp is 78. Running a skimmer and power heads, and HOB for Seagel and a seeding sponge. The shrimp died the day after adding Seagel in my HOB but was eating well. I fed it Prime Reef Flakes during tank feedings. The other inverts died before adding Seagel. All fish are doing well. I don’t know if it’s the Emerald killing them off at night but none have had any visible injuries except the hermits outta there shells.

I’m clueless:confused:

alcimedes 03/14/2018 09:45 AM

No blobs of snot near the dead inverts?

Mryin 03/14/2018 01:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alcimedes (Post 25389476)
No blobs of snot near the dead inverts?

Not that I saw. What the heck would that be?

alcimedes 03/15/2018 01:36 PM

There's a type of worm, oeneda fulgida (sp?) that only eats inverts. They only come out at night, and they retract at the slightest amount of light or vibration, so are often very hard to see.

The one clue they routinely leave behind though is a tell tale blob of mucus surrounding the dead invert. (which is how they suffocate/paralyze their prey)