Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Soft Coral Keepers (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=424)
-   -   Beginner soft corals? (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2658427)

Laurenk 11/16/2017 04:06 PM

Beginner soft corals?

I'm just starting out in this and only have one fairly small Kenya tree coral that I adore. I would love to know some other beginner friendly more hardy soft corals that I can get :) I would love to get some pulsing Xenia as soon as my local(ish) Petco gets some in, but those are the only 2 I'm aware of that are hardy and good for beginners.

spbk84 11/16/2017 06:26 PM

I would suggest looking into Green Star polyps (GSP) or Anthelia. Just beware that Xenia, GSP, and Anthelia all spread and can take over your rock quickly.

kevin21 11/17/2017 07:35 AM

Certain types of mushroom, green star polyps, yellow polyps, button polyps, kenya tree, xenia, and most leathers would all be good.

Fiver 11/17/2017 10:12 AM

Nepthea, finger coral toadstool. Good luck.

jayball 11/17/2017 10:57 AM

The only photosynthetic soft coral that I can think of to steer you away from is the yellow fiji leather. Other than that they are all hardy.

Eliemination 11/19/2017 11:48 AM

I would recommend leather corals, ricordea mushrooms, and zoas. Although xenias and GSP (green star polyps) are very hardy, once established they would grow like weeds and will take over your live rock and other corals. If you have a separate rock away from other corals and live rock, you may keep xenias or GSP on their own separate rock they will look very beautiful.

Laurenk 11/19/2017 03:06 PM

Great thank u!! Would anyone suggest buying from people on Craigslist? I only have a Petco like 30 mins away and it's pretty expensive and u can always find great deals of people selling frags on Craigslist. Any reason not to take advantage of that?

Turbo snail 11/19/2017 04:05 PM