Reef Central Online Community

Reef Central Online Community (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   SCUBA/Snorkeling (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Florida Keys snorkeling locations (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2511350)

Ron Reefman 06/24/2015 07:07 AM

Florida Keys snorkeling locations

My wife and I have been snorkeling in the Florida Middle Keys for about 10 years now. We do go out to the big reef spots once a year or so, but we'd much rather snorkel shallower spots where we can look for things we can't see while snorkeling at deeper and protected reefs. We enjoy finding brittle and serpent sea stars, mantis shrimp, sea cucumbers, coral banded shrimp, lobsters, spaghetti worms, fan worms, several varieties of conch, sand dollars, sea biscuits, all kinds of crabs (big and small), snails, small stony corals, lots of soft corals, flamingo tongue snails and other mollusks. And while in the shallows we've seen squid, octopus (both small and medium sized), rays, sharks, moray eels, barracuda, juvenile tropical fish, a couple of large turtles and more.

We have done a lot of 'off the beach' snorkeling where no boat is required. We've done some near shore islands where a kayak, inflatable or small boat is required. And we have just upgraded our Achilles high pressure air floor and 5hp Honda outboard (now for sale) to a Zodiac rib with a 20hp Suzuki. Now we can start getting a bit further away from the main string of islands.

I'm willing to share locations and reviews of the places we've snorkeled... even google earth maps.