Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > NorthEast Region-Reef Club Forums > Connecticut Area Reef Society (C.T.A.R.S.)
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/13/2012, 10:11 PM   #1
Zalman
Registered Member
 
Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 1,013
Koralias... Bad luck? Or just Junk?

I bought 4 koralia power heads for my tank (2 - 1400 gph and 2 - 750 gph) when I first set it up a little under a year ago. Now three are junk, 2 have broken screens on them and spin in reverse all day, koralia is "mailing me new screens" at least that is what they told me a few weeks ago. The third just spins in reverse and the screen is fine on it. None of these have the slipped bushing that is the usual cause for this.

Did I just have bad luck with these things? or are they just junk in general?


__________________
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me? -Ayn Rand

Current Tank Info: 180 gallon tank
Zalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2012, 10:22 PM   #2
shecter
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northeast connecticut
Posts: 1,453
ive been running 2 425 nanos for almost 2 years problem free. so i know theres some good ones. sorry to hear about those.


shecter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2012, 10:39 PM   #3
mtc1966
Registered Member
 
mtc1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: middletown,ct
Posts: 6,463
are you running a wave maker ? they are known to restart in reverse.


__________________
65g seahorse tank 20g sump with a reef octopus skimmer ,tlf 150 reactor, red sea ozone generator controller,cpr hob fuge with light and 2 China led lights one 42x1 w and one 24x3 w. occupied by 4 ecectus seahorses a couple small gobies and cuc.

Current Tank Info: 58g main with 20g sump
mtc1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2012, 10:52 PM   #4
jdreefman
Registered Member
 
jdreefman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: southington ct
Posts: 287
I have trouble with mine, to get it goin back forward u have to unplug it and plug it back in real fast till it spins forward, I'm not sure what causes this or how to fix it


jdreefman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/13/2012, 11:00 PM   #5
Kdocimo90
Superior Member
 
Kdocimo90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 6,049
i've got a few koralia 4's that i've modded and have worked great for years. Give amazing flow.


__________________
.).).).) VISIT MY HOME PAGE (.(.(.(.
.).).).) TO SEE MY 210G TANK (.(.(.(.



-Kevin

Current Tank Info: 210 Gallon Softy/LPS Reef Tank
Kdocimo90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 02:07 AM   #6
BubbaBoBobBrain
Registered Member
 
BubbaBoBobBrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Thompson, CT
Posts: 5,881
It might be from your wavemaker. When you get the new screens try to make the wave cycle last a while longer for each pump and see if that helps at all. I don't have my koralias on wavemakers and have had a few of them for over 4 years with no problems.


__________________
My fish swam away with my 401k, lol

Bob

Current Tank Info: I currently have an innovative marine mini 38 nuvo
BubbaBoBobBrain is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 06:54 AM   #7
suicideissleep
Registered Member
 
suicideissleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: enfield
Posts: 4,769
i dont have a wavemaker but everytime i unplug any of mine for feeding my start in reverse and i bought them from pc about 2 months ago its our luck


suicideissleep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 07:08 AM   #8
tmc1313
Registered Member
 
tmc1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, Connecticut
Posts: 1,172
I'm running two Koralia 6's on a wavemaker for almost a year now with no issues at all. Good product IMO.


tmc1313 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 07:41 AM   #9
Canadaguy
Registered Member
 
Canadaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 164
I have had the old and the new style Koralias and I will never buy another. Restart issues with both and also stop running just out of the blue- Complete Chinese garbadge IMO


Canadaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 08:48 AM   #10
Zalman
Registered Member
 
Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 1,013
I do have them on a wave maker. maybe i will just disconnect the wavemaker and see if i can get them to just run normal


__________________
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me? -Ayn Rand

Current Tank Info: 180 gallon tank
Zalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 08:50 AM   #11
mylifeismyown66
Registered Member
 
mylifeismyown66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 2,055
I had (2) 425s and (2) 750s in my 39 cube using my AC Jr as a wavemaker before I got my vortechs and not once did they run in reverse. They worked real well, but... ya know, vortechs lol


__________________
Ryan

Current Tank Info: Oceanic Illuminata 57g Mixed Reef SPS Heavy lit by an ATI LED Powermodule running with AC Apex 30g custom sump Aquamaxx ConeS Skimmer BM Doser & 40g frag tank system lit by 6 T5s
mylifeismyown66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 01:03 PM   #12
Zalman
Registered Member
 
Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 1,013
Im doing everything in my power to avoid spending that much money. going tue vortech route... its like 900$ and id only have flow from 2 spots instead of 4


__________________
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me? -Ayn Rand

Current Tank Info: 180 gallon tank
Zalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 01:19 PM   #13
mtc1966
Registered Member
 
mtc1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: middletown,ct
Posts: 6,463
just remove wave maker thats what i did.


__________________
65g seahorse tank 20g sump with a reef octopus skimmer ,tlf 150 reactor, red sea ozone generator controller,cpr hob fuge with light and 2 China led lights one 42x1 w and one 24x3 w. occupied by 4 ecectus seahorses a couple small gobies and cuc.

Current Tank Info: 58g main with 20g sump
mtc1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 01:24 PM   #14
staninct
Zoanthid/SPS Killer
 
staninct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Branford, CT 06405
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zalman View Post
Im doing everything in my power to avoid spending that much money. going tue vortech route... its like 900$ and id only have flow from 2 spots instead of 4

I'm currently using my first Koralia (K3) NOT on a wavemaker, and its been dying out on me randomly. Restarting it fixes it but it dies out whenever it feels like it. Have you tried the old school Seios? I had great luck running a couple of those without all the extra parts on them. I think three or four of the M1500's would be great for your setup.


You'd be surprised at what 2 Vortechs can do!


__________________
Cheers!
Stan

Current Tank Info: 58g w/ 20g sump/fuge, TX5 T5s, Tunze 6045s and SC150 Skimmer
staninct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 01:39 PM   #15
mtc1966
Registered Member
 
mtc1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: middletown,ct
Posts: 6,463
i use a Seios in my current seahorse tank . they are a bit big and use suction cups. but they are powerful quite and flow adjustable.


mtc1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 03:39 PM   #16
Zalman
Registered Member
 
Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 1,013
I may just bite the bullet and buy the vortechs... hmmm... 4 koralias for sale haha


__________________
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me? -Ayn Rand

Current Tank Info: 180 gallon tank
Zalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 03:51 PM   #17
rmhgold1
OSRAS President
 
rmhgold1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cranston,RI
Posts: 1,894
When I was starting, I used the seios but they didnt seem strong enough, so I went to Koralias. I used 2-4s in my 75 and then used 2-4s and a 3 in my 120. I use 2-magnum 6s in my 180. Close to being too strong. In 3 1/2 years never a problem with my koralias. Actually Charlene is using my 4s in one of her tanks. No problems.


__________________
Rich
I'm always game for reef talk!

180g -dart gold return pump(4300gph), 40 blueline skimmer pump, ETSS600 skimmer, ATI 8bulb 60" T5 lights, (2) korilia magnum 6 powerheads, 75g sump,..
rmhgold1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 03:56 PM   #18
Pallobi
CTARS, BRS & OSRAS Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7,018
I used a koralia magnum 7 in a 40 breeder... Lol... I have also used many others up to my vortechs... I personally don't care for them and feel they aren't suffice in SOME cases, and are jus mediocre quality products in other cases, at best... Not telling u to go out and buy ecotech products, but there are better choices than koralias, ESPECIALLY when using them in a wave maker way...

Jus IMO... Nothing more...


__________________
Zoas & Palys
Pallobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 04:08 PM   #19
Zalman
Registered Member
 
Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 1,013
I think it was my wave maker that did them in. I have the red sea wavemaster... it probably was just too much for them.


__________________
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me? -Ayn Rand

Current Tank Info: 180 gallon tank
Zalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 04:47 PM   #20
carlos413
Registered Member
 
carlos413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicopee Massachusetts
Posts: 428
I had the same issue with that same wavemaker. The constant start and stop will make the pumps go in reverse and or brake the screen. I had to replace a korelia 3 & a 4 due to broken screens and or propeller. Imo I dont recommend using these on wavemakers. Hows wormzilla doing &a hows the stingray ?


carlos413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 05:21 PM   #21
Zalman
Registered Member
 
Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
Posts: 1,013
Wormzilla is still haunting small childrens nightmares. and the ray is doing amazing. First few days were rough with all the sand storms. But the finer particles have made their way downstairs. He eats like a pig though, probably doubles my fishfood bill by himself.


__________________
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me? -Ayn Rand

Current Tank Info: 180 gallon tank
Zalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 05:31 PM   #22
89Foxbody
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 1,403
I had a Nano 240 that just stopped working all together for no reason. First one I had problems with. Running a 240 and a 425 in my BC29 now.


__________________
BC29 w/ LED retrofit, Refugium, MJ600.
89Foxbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 07:45 PM   #23
Chriskid
Premium Member
 
Chriskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: plainfield, CT
Posts: 4,121
all 4 of mine work great, with the wavemaker made by them. never go in reverse


1400, but they r the evolutions


Chriskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2012, 08:49 PM   #24
md4958
Registered Member
 
md4958's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 52
Im on my third Nano. My first one didnt work right out of the box. Koralia sent me a new one, and the little bulb (that fits into the suction cup) was sheered off when I got it... so far so good with this one.




md4958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/15/2012, 06:51 AM   #25
msl5078
Registered Member
 
msl5078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Groton, CT
Posts: 408
I haven't had any problems with the korilias on my old micro tank, the only problem I have ever had was due to excessive calcium buildup. Good Luck!


msl5078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014