Reef Central Online Community
SpectraPure

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/24/2018, 11:51 AM   #1
GoNoles
Registered Member
 
GoNoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Wire Management

Anyone mind sharing thoughts/shots of the wire management in the their sump (that wouldn't mind me maybe using for my sump). I would like to start my sump as streamlined as possible.


GoNoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/24/2018, 01:23 PM   #2
ramseynb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 647
If anyone's interested in making a rat's nest in their cabinet, hit me up. Seems a pro at that. :P


ramseynb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/25/2018, 04:19 PM   #3
sierra_bravo
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 41
I used this and think it does an outstanding job:



Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk


sierra_bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2018, 01:09 PM   #4
GoNoles
Registered Member
 
GoNoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramseynb View Post
If anyone's interested in making a rat's nest in their cabinet, hit me up. Seems a pro at that. :P
LOL!! Exactly what I'm trying to prevent from my previous tank!


GoNoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2018, 01:10 PM   #5
GoNoles
Registered Member
 
GoNoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by sierra_bravo View Post
I used this and think it does an outstanding job:



Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Do you know the dimensions of this? It resembles pool deck drain.


GoNoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/26/2018, 07:59 PM   #6
drtrash
Registered Member
 
drtrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,161
Feedback i have heard it getting the lid on is a pain and not worth trouble, anyone confirm? I have seem a coil tobe thay looks like perforated binding used for binding reports


drtrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/28/2018, 06:40 AM   #7
BigDave
Registered Member
 
BigDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wylie, TX
Posts: 455
I used this stuff. It works ok.

https://www.amazon.com/UT-Wire-UTW-C...s=cord+channel


BigDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/01/2018, 08:30 AM   #8
callsign4223
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Midwest City, Oklahoma
Posts: 294
What he posted is made for wire management in computer server racks. It works great for that application, and I would think it would work equally well under a stand. The lids aren't incredibly difficult to take on or off, although they can be fiddly with long runs of it. You can get it in various lengths and widths. Here is a link to some on Amazon, just so you can see what to search for. The width is measured in U, this is a server rack standard measurement unit. 1U = 1.75 inches. Don't ask me why we measure servers in U, it's just the way my life works LOL.

https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...ire+management


callsign4223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/01/2018, 10:15 AM   #9
BigDave
Registered Member
 
BigDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wylie, TX
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by callsign4223 View Post
What he posted is made for wire management in computer server racks. It works great for that application, and I would think it would work equally well under a stand. The lids aren't incredibly difficult to take on or off, although they can be fiddly with long runs of it. You can get it in various lengths and widths. Here is a link to some on Amazon, just so you can see what to search for. The width is measured in U, this is a server rack standard measurement unit. 1U = 1.75 inches. Don't ask me why we measure servers in U, it's just the way my life works LOL.

https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-...ire+management
U = Units


BigDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/02/2018, 09:03 AM   #10
GoNoles
Registered Member
 
GoNoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
This looks like it would be fairly easy to attach to the top of the sump. Seems it would work fine.


GoNoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 12:40 PM   #11
homer1475
Registered Member
 
homer1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramseynb View Post
If anyone's interested in making a rat's nest in their cabinet, hit me up. Seems a pro at that. :P
+1


__________________
80G SCA Build: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2560256

Originally posted by der_wille_zur_macht:

"He's just taking his lunch to work"
homer1475 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/03/2018, 09:09 PM   #12
Gorgok
Registered Member
 
Gorgok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 1,872
Generally i just open the door, toss the cable as deep as it will go (not so far anymore) slam the door closed and call it good 'nuff.


Gorgok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 07:37 AM   #13
kaxt
Registered Member
 
kaxt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 333
I recently built this and added a pvc pipe to run all my wires to the box.




This is my before picture




Last edited by kaxt; 03/05/2018 at 07:47 AM.
kaxt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/05/2018, 01:23 PM   #14
GoNoles
Registered Member
 
GoNoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaxt View Post
I recently built this and added a pvc pipe to run all my wires to the box.




This is my before picture


Looks great!! You have a much more intricate system then I do! I have the one end of my peninsula 40b as a spot for my controllers/power bars. I was just worried about the wires in my sump are of the stand. Looks awesome, though!!
IMG_1742.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


GoNoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/07/2018, 11:54 AM   #15
Sharpimage
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaxt View Post
I recently built this and added a pvc pipe to run all my wires to the box.




This is my before picture
I disapprove. No more easy shots. Severely needed at times.
J/K looks clean for sure


Sharpimage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/07/2018, 01:16 PM   #16
Joe0813
Registered Member
 
Joe0813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston strong
Posts: 2,587
mine is a rats nest... it actually makes my wife angry. so if you want an angry wife, feel free to send me a message and ill be more than happy to walk you through the ultimate rats nest


__________________
Joe and Jenny

Current Tank Info: 180 reef
Joe0813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 12:12 AM   #17
laverda
Registered Member
 
laverda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 6,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by drtrash View Post
Feedback i have heard it getting the lid on is a pain and not worth trouble, anyone confirm? I have seem a coil tobe thay looks like perforated binding used for binding reports
It is pretty easy really I have a 6 length I use. I cut the cover into 3 pieces which makes it much easier especially when you need to replace, ad or remove a cable in just one section. Even if you need to pull a wire that runs the whole length it gets hard to get a 6 long strip out of the way under a tank.


__________________
240G mixed reef, 29G SPS/LPS clam tank, 50G mixed reef

Current Tank Info: 300g mixed reef, 50g cube
laverda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 09:00 PM   #18
jccaclimber
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 522
The current setup is still a major work in progress, but that wire routing shown above works well. Be aware that on some versions the slots on the sides don't extend all the way up, so you end up having to cut them to get the wires into the slots, those are a bit of a PITA.

I also use Flexo self closing wire wrap (it's amazing stuff). I think it's the F6, but I'm not positive. It not only self closes, but actually bends around corners and is nicer to use than any other wire wrap I've ever used. McMaster Carr part number 1459T24 is an example, although it is cheaper other places.


jccaclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/08/2018, 10:49 PM   #19
laverda
Registered Member
 
laverda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 6,295
I have used that stuff for vintage car wiring and it works really well.


__________________
240G mixed reef, 29G SPS/LPS clam tank, 50G mixed reef

Current Tank Info: 300g mixed reef, 50g cube
laverda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.