Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/09/2007, 10:12 AM   #1
ggenz
Registered Member

8 guys and some fish: moving a 180g tank

Ok, its spring break and I finally have some time to make this thread, so here we go…

I am a freshman in high school and have been interested in aquariums for some time. At the moment I just have some freshwater tanks, but have been researching saltwater tanks for about 6 months. In the near future, I hope to start up a 38 gallon reef set up, but more on that later. On another note, the middle school that I attended asked if my friend and I would set up a fish tank in one of the classrooms. My friend is also quite interested in aquariums but instead of taking the marine route, he went the way of freshwater planted. The school has a couple of teachers that are also interested in fish tanks but they wanted one to be set up and maintained by the students. After looking at the available space, budget, and time, we decided that a marine tank would be a good thing for the students to work on. The original plan was to set up a 75 gallon fish-only-with-live-rock tank. It would house a snowflake eel and several fishes that would be “compatible” with it (at least for a while). We decided that this would be a good way to get the 7th and 8th grade boys interested in fish tanks in general, both freshwater and marine. (By the way, I forgot to mention that the middle school and high school are all-guys-schools, hence the interest in the eel that eats other fish for lunch.)