Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Tunze
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/12/2007, 09:21 AM   #26
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin TX 78753


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/23/2007, 03:59 AM   #27
chefrt
Registered Member
 
chefrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brunei
Posts: 124
For the last 21/2 month my TurbelleĀ® stream Kit TS24 work very well, then suddenly 1 pump stop. I do the cleaning with soaking in vinegar but still not working, when I try to turn the propeller it very tight, not the other pump it very loose. Then I try to change the propeller, it the same very tight. Something wrong with the pump or the pump burnout?


__________________
Lighting: DIY 80 Led light, 2 x KEY led light K7236 wide and 4 T5 54W.
Water Movements: 1 Turbelle Stream 6105 with single controller, 1 Jabao WP40 and 1 MP40 Vortech.

Current Tank Info: 72" X 36" X 24" 270G
chefrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/23/2007, 09:31 AM   #28
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
I think you have a pump with a defect. I see you are in Brunei, where did you order from? You probably need a new motor 6100.015.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/24/2007, 05:03 AM   #29
chefrt
Registered Member
 
chefrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brunei
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally posted by rvitko
I think you have a pump with a defect. I see you are in Brunei, where did you order from? You probably need a new motor 6100.015.
Yes you are right, the motor was totally out, and this I found out after I try with the other transformer the pump still not working. And other bad think, the transformer bottom part look like overheating it crumple.

For your info I buy in Singapore, I have to call to Singapore to check on how to go about it. Do I need to send the whole set pump and sensor or just sent the pump?


chefrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/24/2007, 09:15 AM   #30
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
Every dealer is different in this regard, Tunze usually just changes the motor but the dealer will need to call Tunze and check what they want him to do.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2007, 07:44 AM   #31
KenStanley
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 96
Hi Roger,

We spoke on the phone a couple of weeks ago about my TZTS24 system which I received the on 6/4/2007. If you will recall one of the 6100 pumps (the one on the left side of my tank) keeps setting the alarm and I have now taken the pump apart 3 times since you and I spoke. There is just no build up that I can see that is causing this problem and if it were a build up issue I just don't understand why one pump would have it, to the point it shuts down and the other is fine. The one that is not setting the alarm has not been cleaned at all, which after less than 2 months of operation I wouldn't expect it to need cleaning any how. As you advised I've followed the above cleaning procedure to the letter but that is not satisfactorily solving my problem. I have the system set up so that it replicates tidal flow. The left pump (the one with the problem) works fine, the controller shuts it down and the right pump comes on. Approximately 6 hours later when the left pump is energized the alarm sounds and the pump will not operate. I take it apart wipe down, put it back together and a few days later it happens all over again and the interval seems to be getting shorter. Please advise me how I should proceed.

Thanks.
Ken


__________________
When there's nothing to do to your aquarium, you don't have a hobby.... You have a piece of furniture!

Current Tank Info: 110G, 15g refugium, uv, H&S skimmer, calcium reactor, 2- 250W/10K MH, 2- 96W Actinic, moon lights, Chiller, Tunze Wave Box, Tunze Stream Kit 2x 6100 TS24, Red Sea AquaZone + Ozonizer
KenStanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2007, 09:07 AM   #32
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
Send me the pump and we will get it taken care of. Usual turnaround is 48hrs.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin, TX 78753


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2007, 04:12 PM   #33
KenStanley
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 96
Recieved 6100 back

Hi Roger,

I returned from about ten days vacation on yesterday and when I came home my 6100 I had sent to you before leaving was here waiting for me as promised. With high hopes I immediately installed it. It came on perfectly. Six hours later, as programed it shut off. Six hours after that when it was programmed to come back on, it set the alarm. Exactly as it did before sending it in. I am now going to try switching the outputs of the controller to see if the problem remains with the same pump or if it changes. If it continues to be the same pump then I think we have a problem because whatever you did, it didn't correct the issue. As I told you previously the pumps are set up so as to dublicate tidal flow. One pump on for 6 hours and off for 6 hours. The second pump is off one the first pump is on and on when the first pump is off. For the first test after making the switch I'm going to shorten the on off cycle in the hopes of saving time in the diagnosis, realizing of course that if it does not fail I may have to carry the test out to the full 6 hour on/off cycle to know for sure.

I know intermitent problems can be next to impossible to diagnos in that if it does not fail you can not fix what is not broken. I'll let you know how the experiment comes out. Mean while if you have any suggestions please let me know.

Ken Stanley


__________________
When there's nothing to do to your aquarium, you don't have a hobby.... You have a piece of furniture!

Current Tank Info: 110G, 15g refugium, uv, H&S skimmer, calcium reactor, 2- 250W/10K MH, 2- 96W Actinic, moon lights, Chiller, Tunze Wave Box, Tunze Stream Kit 2x 6100 TS24, Red Sea AquaZone + Ozonizer
KenStanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2007, 06:38 AM   #34
KenStanley
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 96
Update. I've taken the pump apart, there is nothing blocking or hampering operation that I can find. I've switched the pumps inputs on the controller. The pump does not come on at all now, while the other pump functions properly on any of the controllers outputs. Perhaps now it can be repaired since it doesn't work at all. What is odd is that the alarm is not going off at all now.


__________________
When there's nothing to do to your aquarium, you don't have a hobby.... You have a piece of furniture!

Current Tank Info: 110G, 15g refugium, uv, H&S skimmer, calcium reactor, 2- 250W/10K MH, 2- 96W Actinic, moon lights, Chiller, Tunze Wave Box, Tunze Stream Kit 2x 6100 TS24, Red Sea AquaZone + Ozonizer
KenStanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2007, 09:15 AM   #35
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
Please send it ASAP, I have to have it by Friday to repair it before I leave for a two week vacation. I am sorry for the inconvenience. I will get it repaired this time.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2007, 03:08 PM   #36
KenStanley
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 96
Okay Roger, I have sent the pump in again. I hope you are able to get it taken care of. It is very frustrating to me and you too I'm sure.

Ken


__________________
When there's nothing to do to your aquarium, you don't have a hobby.... You have a piece of furniture!

Current Tank Info: 110G, 15g refugium, uv, H&S skimmer, calcium reactor, 2- 250W/10K MH, 2- 96W Actinic, moon lights, Chiller, Tunze Wave Box, Tunze Stream Kit 2x 6100 TS24, Red Sea AquaZone + Ozonizer
KenStanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/02/2007, 03:37 PM   #37
bogg
Registered Member
 
bogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,263
Hey guys stupid ?. I have a 6080, the impeller keeps coming out of the motor and the whole assemby falls apart. Whats the deal does the impellar not lock into the motor. It doesnt seem to be missing any parts, that I know of. tia


__________________
And God said let the water teem with living creatures and he saw that it was good.

Current Tank Info: Elos 120xl, 2 planet 2's, KZs, wavy sea/Tunze
bogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/07/2007, 05:01 PM   #38
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
It shouldn't fall apart but it doesn't lock in, it is held in by the magnetic field. Do you have a photo?


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/08/2007, 06:48 AM   #39
KenStanley
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 96
Hey again Roger. Just wanted to let you know the replacement pump came in and everything is working as it should. Thank you very much for the quick turn around. Hope you enjoyed your vacation.
Ken


__________________
When there's nothing to do to your aquarium, you don't have a hobby.... You have a piece of furniture!

Current Tank Info: 110G, 15g refugium, uv, H&S skimmer, calcium reactor, 2- 250W/10K MH, 2- 96W Actinic, moon lights, Chiller, Tunze Wave Box, Tunze Stream Kit 2x 6100 TS24, Red Sea AquaZone + Ozonizer
KenStanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/21/2007, 06:35 PM   #40
soondubu
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 104
is there a warranty for tunzes?

mine failed last month


__________________
1st year Reefer

Current Tank Info: 60g fish and corals. 250W 10K x2, and T5 actinics 54w x 4. aqua c pro with mag 3. pci 1/4 chiller with mag 7 return. korallin 1502. red sea ozonizer
soondubu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/21/2007, 07:26 PM   #41
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
2 years


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/24/2007, 04:37 PM   #42
joefitz
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 557
Roger, my tunze 6100 started beeping the other day so I turned it off until I had time to try to clean it. I can't seem to get the drive unit/impeller out of the main housing in my 6100 -- it is stuck. I tried soaking it in vinegar, at first overnight then when that didn't do anything, several days and still no change.

I can pull it out a little bit...somewhere between an eight and a quarter of an inch but even that requires more force than it should.

Is there any way to go about repairing this unit? What else could I try to get the drive unit out?


joefitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/24/2007, 05:14 PM   #43
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
It has to be pulled out, likely if it is very stuck the drive unit will break but it is worth trying to just pull on it hard.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/24/2007, 08:39 PM   #44
joefitz
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 557
Well, I didn't wait for your response because I read enough of your other responses to realize you were probably going to say just that... Fortunately for me, it came out with brute force effort and, after one serious cleaning, it is working like a champ again!

In case it proves helpful to anyone as stupid as I was (not cleaning it regularly), I was able to use a very slight circular motion with constant, strong force to work the unit out. There was pretty substantial calcium buildup coating pretty much everything.

Thank goodness for Tunze's built-in protection when the pump can't perform properly...and for this resource on RC -- in particular Roger and all the content and ongoing support you provide to the community!


joefitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/25/2007, 09:44 AM   #45
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
Thanks! I am glad you got it cleaned up. Just be sure that the hole in the center of the magnet and the upper bearing are clean. If these are fouled it can lock up again in just a month or two. These are critical to keeping the motor cool and clean since this is where the water flows into the rotor and bearings.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09/25/2007, 09:59 AM   #46
joefitz
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 557
Yes, I had to use a drill to get that stuff out but I was very careful and it wasn't a problem at all. Everything seems to be working well now. Now that my tank is all back up in the new house I can get my act together and put this type of maintenance back in my calendar so I won't let it go too long again. I'll keep my eyes on the pump too just to make sure I didn't miss anything.

Thanks again Roger, you are the best!


joefitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/23/2007, 02:41 PM   #47
RedEyeReef
Registered Member
 
RedEyeReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,187
Hi Roger,

What is my next option if I have cleaned the entire inside of the pump and the alarm still goes off? It is a 6200 with the updated propellers you sent me awhile back. There is no calcium anywhere and it still beaps. Can it be something in the electronics?

P.S. love your service and your product.


__________________
"Life's Journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting... Holy Crap!!! What a Ride!!!"

Current Tank Info: 150 Reef, SPS, LPS, Clams, 8-T5's, Tunze 7095 & 6200 Streams, ATI bubble 250
RedEyeReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/23/2007, 04:53 PM   #48
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
I would send it in to me for service.

Tunze USA
305 Victor St
Austin TX 78753

Just include a note with your contact and return info.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10/28/2007, 06:01 PM   #49
soondubu
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 104
should i soak the whole pump in vinegar so something every few months?


__________________
1st year Reefer

Current Tank Info: 60g fish and corals. 250W 10K x2, and T5 actinics 54w x 4. aqua c pro with mag 3. pci 1/4 chiller with mag 7 return. korallin 1502. red sea ozonizer
soondubu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/29/2007, 09:38 AM   #50
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 34,993
You want to remove the drive unit and clean it as shown in the manual. Soaking alone without removing the drive unit does very little good. Not enough of the vinegar solution gets into the drive unit this way.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014