Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/01/2017, 11:52 PM   #1
CharlesReef
Registered Member

Quarantine

Hi Guys, I am very new to reef, been searching for forums, and this seems to be the best one. I have a few questions I hope hobbyist can help me solve.

Info;
Type : Mix Tank
Tank+sump : 1.000L / 260g
Skimmer : Yes
Chiller : Yes
Refugium : Yes (Macro algae)
Temp : 26 D/Celcius / 78
Ph : 8.3
Ammonia : 0
Nitrite : 0
Nitrate 15

I did a two weeks cycle before and ended a disaster with my tank, all my fishes died within a couple of weeks sometimes even sooner, and left with ich with the rest of them. So I decided to take all my fishes out of the DT and into quarantine tank, and they are healthy now with added copper dosage. My DT still have soft corals.

Question : How long do I leave my tank for until the parasites all gone? And do I maintain my temperature? Do I need to dose the tank with anything?

Question 2 : I have a 1HP Chiller for this tank, my LFS and few others recommend me with using 2 pumps. One for the the chiller to the sump, and another from the sump to the tank, for the reason that the pump might break. However I've seen a lot of videos, they only use one pump. Am I doing it wrong? I have a 3.000L/Hr pump 2x.

Question 3 : I am planning to purchase a GFO and Carbon reactor for this tank to eliminate water odor and to clear the water, do I need it now? or later until the tank matures? And do I need to purchase another pump? It seems that my sump will soon be running out of space with all these pumps, 1x for the chiller, 1x for the sump to tank, 1x for the skimmer.

Question 4 : Since this is a big tank and water changes can be troublesome, is it okay for me to change water every 3 months?

Question 5 : Do I need to dose my tank with calcium,magnesium or alkaline right now or later?