Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/18/2019, 06:18 AM   #1
Bioguy7
Registered Member

My City water quality report

Hi All, I am a newbie and am setting up a 125G reef tank. I have read through this forum and understand that RODI water is vital. But just for discussion sake here is my city water report. Say I use a water conditioner to remove the chloramines, would this water be OK for the initial setup. I do plan to use distilled water for subsequent regular top-off maintenance, as I have access to DI water at my work place but only 2 gallons at a time.

Sent from my SM-N960W using Tapatalk

Bioguy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/18/2019, 11:42 AM   #2
Oldreeferman
Registered Member

Everything over time is accumulative that you add that does not get used up by the fish or corals or Coralline algae. This is why city water isn't recommended has too many contaminants, its not just a chlorine issue or else one could just add a neutralizer for that.
Id start with RODI & stick with it, i use distilled water myself for top offs that idea i like myself adds nothing to the tank but what evaporated.

Current Tank Info: Nano Reef tank
Oldreeferman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/18/2019, 12:32 PM   #3
tkeracer619
Registered Member

Chloramines are a combination of ammonia and chlorine. Prime will break the bond between the two, neutralize the chlorine, and convert the ammonia to from free to bound. The ammonia will still remain and unless something can uptake it, it will remain until the tank can process it into nitrates.

I would advise against using tap in this instance. Also, if you do purchase an RODI, you will need to take extra steps regarding chloramines. Standard units are inadequate.

tkeracer619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/18/2019, 12:36 PM   #4
Uncle99
Crab Free Zone