Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/30/2006, 08:02 PM   #1
kelley_mc
Registered Member

Kelley's 37 gal system. from the start

Well, I've debated quite a bit whether or not to start this thread and decided, why not. The setup will be small by almost all Reef Central standards and it does not fit in the Nano tank thread. However, I realized that many people out there may also be in the same situation I am and they may be interested in the thread of this tank size. So here we go....

DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert. I have about 3 years of experiece and most of my research has come from right here on RC. Any comments, questions and feedback are appreciated.

I first started by building the stand frame. Simple 2x4 construction. Nothing overly complicated.

Here is an image.

Last edited by kelley_mc; 10/30/2006 at 08:18 PM.
kelley_mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/30/2006, 08:07 PM   #2
kelley_mc
Registered Member

I designed the stand so that there is open space behind where the aquarium will sit so that the plumbing will be contained within the stand. Here is a pic with a 20 gal long on the stand where the 37 gal will eventually sit. (Note that the 37 gal has the same footprint as a 20 long.)

The stand, canopy and the area behind the tank will eventually all be "skinned" with oak.

Unread 10/30/2006, 08:11 PM   #3
kelley_mc
Registered Member

Here is a pic of the sump that I have built.

I made it using a 20 gal tall AGA. Baffles are acrylic and simply installed using silicone. The flow will be from left to right.

Drain (Skimmer) --> Refugium --> Return

Unread 10/30/2006, 08:14 PM   #4
kelley_mc
Registered Member

Here is a pic of the sump in the stand.

Unread 10/30/2006, 08:17 PM   #5
kelley_mc
Registered Member

Here is a pic of the tank, stand and sump.