Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/01/2012, 12:25 PM   #1
emilypres
Registered Member

Wet/Dry filter or Sump Refugium?

I am brand new to the hobby and have been reading alot. I figured i would start buying things a little at a time and slowly but surely i would get enough to get started. I recently bought some items thru craigslist for $75. Its everything you see in the pictures including a 4' coralife T5 light. I think i got a pretty good deal but im not sure. I thought i knew what i wanted to do with the 2 acrylic tanks but now im not sure. Any ideas? I am planning on buying a 75gallon reef ready tank. I want a coral/fish tank mix. Please look at the pics and tell me what you think i could do with this. It looks like the 2 acrylic tanks were attached at one point, however most of the baffles are missing. I can make baffles at work easy enough.

so i think my question is do i go with a wet dry filter with the protein skimmer or do i try and set up some sort of sump refugium with a skimmer or can i do a mixuture? Need some advice from someone more experienced than me.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg wet dry 1b.jpg (86.2 KB, 56 views)
File Type: jpg wet dry 2b.jpg (93.4 KB, 49 views)
File Type: jpg wet dry 3c.jpg (91.2 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg wet dry 4d.jpg (82.2 KB, 40 views)
emilypres is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/01/2012, 01:32 PM   #2
Jopalmighty
Registered Member

I'm pretty new to the hobby as well. After much research I made the decision to go with a sump/refuge. because of the issue with trickle filters possibly raising nitrates if not cleaned regularly. I do also run a skimmer and my nitrates have constantly been 0

Jopalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/01/2012, 01:57 PM   #3
Kyle918
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jopalmighty View Post