Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/12/2019, 03:44 PM   #1
FaithKlim
Registered Member

Hanna Phosphate checker vs Red Sea

I recently purchased the HI713 checker for phosphates; I had been using Red Sea for 2 years prior.

My hanna results are showing .83 - .86 ppm
Red Sea shows .10 - .12

I repeated the hanna test 3 times, red sea twice using identical batch of tank water. Can someone please help me understand this huge discrepancy in results?

FaithKlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/12/2019, 06:47 PM   #2
bertoni
RC Mod

Welcome to the world of hobbyist testing equipment. I have no idea which results, if either, might be more accurate. Are all the animals in the tank doing well enough? You could try getting a Hach PO-19 test kit to see what it says, but it might not be worth the cost.

Unread 08/12/2019, 11:17 PM   #3
FaithKlim
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertoni View Post
Welcome to the world of hobbyist testing equipment. I have no idea which results, if either, might be more accurate. Are all the animals in the tank doing well enough? You could try getting a Hach PO-19 test kit to see what it says, but it might not be worth the cost.
Yes everything is fine. I battled Dinoflagellates about a year ago & try to keep an eye on my NO3 & PO4; when those bottomed out is when my troubles began. Since keeping those levels elevated, the dinos have stayed away. I use hanna for Alk & Cal testing, thought their phosphate test would be easier than the Red Sea color matching...

FaithKlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/13/2019, 06:27 PM   #4
bertoni
RC Mod