Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 08/22/2017, 02:27 PM   #2526
mpots
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Doughboy, have you had any issues with the webserver not responding? I've had the controller up for a few months now and it seems like every few days / week the server won't let me log in to it and the LCD remains frozen on the last screen, but the status light continues to blink and the ATO keeps working (I can test with moving the float switches).

Sometimes it'll recover after a few hours and let me log in again, other times I have to restart it. Logs don't seem to show anything problematic, but there are not any log data after the time it freezes (until I restart it or it recovers). Thought it was an issue with the Arduino / MicroSD card, so I replaced the mega, the w5100 shield, and the 8gb microSD. Same thing happens though...

I'm pretty puzzled at what it could be... I was thinking maybe I'll try to get the two atlas stamps working in Serial mode again (currently in i2c) in case the i2c bus is getting overloaded, but that seems like a long shot.

Any ideas? I can send you log files if that'd help too.


mpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/28/2017, 11:17 AM   #2527
mpots
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpots View Post
Doughboy, have you had any issues with the webserver not responding? I've had the controller up for a few months now and it seems like every few days / week the server won't let me log in to it and the LCD remains frozen on the last screen, but the status light continues to blink and the ATO keeps working (I can test with moving the float switches).

Sometimes it'll recover after a few hours and let me log in again, other times I have to restart it. Logs don't seem to show anything problematic, but there are not any log data after the time it freezes (until I restart it or it recovers). Thought it was an issue with the Arduino / MicroSD card, so I replaced the mega, the w5100 shield, and the 8gb microSD. Same thing happens though...

I'm pretty puzzled at what it could be... I was thinking maybe I'll try to get the two atlas stamps working in Serial mode again (currently in i2c) in case the i2c bus is getting overloaded, but that seems like a long shot.

Any ideas? I can send you log files if that'd help too.
So quick update on this... it seems that the issue has been related to the SD card & logging. I reformatted my 8gb card after the system locked up several times in one day, and it hasn't locked up since then. I also got a 4gb card in case there's an issue with the 8gb one and will try that out too.

In case others are having a similar issue and are also using 8gb micro SD cards, try reformatting the card!


mpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/30/2017, 09:41 AM   #2528
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
sorry for late reply.
all network access to the controller is logged, so you can check if someone is trying to hack into the controller. So if someone is continuously attempting to log in, it may fill up the log file. You can add the ip address to your router's firewall blacklist.

the arduino ethernet shield can handle 4 connections at a time. If it gets overloaded, you may need to wait for connections to be timed out (I think 3 minutes), and try again.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/30/2017, 10:10 AM   #2529
mpots
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Good point about the network access logging potentially being the culprit - I had seen this before but didn't think that it could be enough to fill up the SD card. But after looking at it again, I think that it may be the problem.

Wondering if you've ever seen this happening before. I have a bookmark saved to my iPhone desktop for the controller, and when I log in from my phone it generates a ton of log activity. The below logging happens ~10 times in a row. When I log in from my PC instead, minimal log activity generated.
I'll do some digging on how safari accesses/saves bookmarks... Maybe it's trying to cache thumbnails from the webpage and that generates a lot of log activity...

08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120-precomposed.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120-precomposed.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /favicon.ico
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /favicon.ico
08:14:26 Access denied.


mpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/05/2017, 07:01 AM   #2530
Matjj2479
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Cant get this to compile. keep getting error











Network.ino: In function 'void logNetworkAccess(TinyWebServer&)':
Network:552: error: 'class EthernetClient' has no member named 'getRemoteIP'


Matjj2479 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/06/2017, 08:01 AM   #2531
mpots
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Did you edit the ethernetclient.h and ethernetclient.cpp files? I suspect that's the issue, it looks like the compile issue you have is because the ethernetclient files don't have the method you need to add.

Instructions from the documentation here are also pasted below: https://github.com/d0ughb0y/Chauvet16/

You will also need to edit the Ethernet library to add a new method for getting the ip address of the incoming connection.

Edit EthernetClient.cpp and add this to the end of the file:

uint8_t* EthernetClient::getRemoteIP(uint8_t remoteIP[])
{
W5100.readSnDIPR(_sock, remoteIP);
return remoteIP;
}


Edit EthernetClient.h and add this to line 25:

uint8_t* getRemoteIP(uint8_t RemoteIP[]);//adds remote ip address


mpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/06/2017, 08:55 AM   #2532
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpots View Post
Good point about the network access logging potentially being the culprit - I had seen this before but didn't think that it could be enough to fill up the SD card. But after looking at it again, I think that it may be the problem.

Wondering if you've ever seen this happening before. I have a bookmark saved to my iPhone desktop for the controller, and when I log in from my phone it generates a ton of log activity. The below logging happens ~10 times in a row. When I log in from my PC instead, minimal log activity generated.
I'll do some digging on how safari accesses/saves bookmarks... Maybe it's trying to cache thumbnails from the webpage and that generates a lot of log activity...

08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120-precomposed.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120-precomposed.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:25 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-120x120.png
08:14:25 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /apple-touch-icon.png
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /favicon.ico
08:14:26 Access denied.
08:14:26 192.168.1.152 /favicon.ico
08:14:26 Access denied.


Make sure the bookmark contains your login info, then you will not get the access denied log.

The bookmark should be something like
Http://usernameasswd@192.167.1.152

Replace usernameasswd with your login and the IP address with your external IP.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/06/2017, 11:36 AM   #2533
Matjj2479
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpots View Post
Did you edit the ethernetclient.h and ethernetclient.cpp files? I suspect that's the issue, it looks like the compile issue you have is because the ethernetclient files don't have the method you need to add.

Instructions from the documentation here are also pasted below: https://github.com/d0ughb0y/Chauvet16/

You will also need to edit the Ethernet library to add a new method for getting the ip address of the incoming connection.

Edit EthernetClient.cpp and add this to the end of the file:

uint8_t* EthernetClient::getRemoteIP(uint8_t remoteIP[])
{
W5100.readSnDIPR(_sock, remoteIP);
return remoteIP;
}


Edit EthernetClient.h and add this to line 25:

uint8_t* getRemoteIP(uint8_t RemoteIP[]);//adds remote ip address

There both as said in the instructions. That's what's confusing me so much


Matjj2479 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/06/2017, 12:25 PM   #2534
mpots
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Yep, that's how I had set up my bookmark -- using the full URL with the username & password, followed by external IP, and port. It logs in automatically when I hit the bookmark, but for whatever reason I'm still getting those Access Denied messages.

it looks like iOS devices may try to query webpages for a 120x120 image to use as the bookmark icon, so it may be that my phone is querying the page for an image but ignores the credentials when doing so and that results in an error... I'm going to try putting an icon in a public folder and adding a few lines to the index.htm to point to that, will let you know if that resolves it.


mpots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/27/2017, 02:20 PM   #2535
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Jerry, I have a question about the pwm fans.
I made the circuit as pictured in the shematic and wanted to try it with a simple pwm example sketch. It works in the way that the speed of the fan varies, but I get a high whining sound whenever the fans are running.
If I leave out the circuit with the transistors and just use the pwm signal directly on the pwm pin of the fan, I don't have the noise.

In your program, is there some sort of special pwm output to get rid of that whining sound? It's difficult for me to test it with your code without having the full controller.



Thanks for your reply


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/27/2017, 06:09 PM   #2536
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
The pwm frequency must be 25khz in order to be inaudible.

This is the spec of cpu fan pwm control I referred to
http://www.formfactors.org/developer...e_PWM_Spec.pdf


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/27/2017, 11:30 PM   #2537
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0ughb0y View Post
The pwm frequency must be 25khz in order to be inaudible.

This is the spec of cpu fan pwm control I referred to
http://www.formfactors.org/developer...e_PWM_Spec.pdf
So the pwm output must be 25khz? Does your sketch take care of that?


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/30/2017, 01:30 PM   #2538
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnyking View Post
So the pwm output must be 25khz? Does your sketch take care of that?
yes, it is in source file PWMFan.ino

I actually used 20khz since the values are convenient and setting the duty cycle between 0 and 100 is just a direct register assignment, no additional calculations.

16mhz/8 (clock divider) /100 (counter top) = 20khz


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/22/2017, 08:09 AM   #2539
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Thank you��

Are you still working on the v2 of the controller?


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11/23/2017, 03:22 AM   #2540
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Jerry, do you think it would be possible to add a few (4 max) flow sensors (example: http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/g12...?cPath=144_151) to the controller, or id there not enough memory left? I'm not using any serial atlas sensors and i switched the atlas ph sensor for an analog one.


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/06/2017, 02:55 PM   #2541
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnyking View Post
Jerry, do you think it would be possible to add a few (4 max) flow sensors (example: http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/g12...?cPath=144_151) to the controller, or id there not enough memory left? I'm not using any serial atlas sensors and i switched the atlas ph sensor for an analog one.
Any thoughts about this? Thanks


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/07/2017, 12:22 PM   #2542
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
You can still add it. You can look at the pwm fan code for counting pulses.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/07/2017, 12:28 PM   #2543
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
I've been busy setting a new (smaller) tank this year, so did not get the chance to complete the work on v2 of the controller.

I got an apex classic to see how it works, and think I will go back to diy controller.
The apexfusion lag is horrible. I use other devices with cloud based service and they all have minimal and acceptable delay.

I got some new ideas for the controller, so will probably start working on it from scratch next year.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/11/2017, 02:44 PM   #2544
ronnyking
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0ughb0y View Post
I've been busy setting a new (smaller) tank this year, so did not get the chance to complete the work on v2 of the controller.

I got an apex classic to see how it works, and think I will go back to diy controller.
The apexfusion lag is horrible. I use other devices with cloud based service and they all have minimal and acceptable delay.

I got some new ideas for the controller, so will probably start working on it from scratch next year.
Ok, nice to hear you still got plan on making a new version!


ronnyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/11/2017, 06:51 PM   #2545
tony85lamb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
Is there a way of adding diy dosing pumps with a calibration feature

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk


tony85lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/11/2017, 08:39 PM   #2546
SorsCode
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony85lamb View Post
Is there a way of adding diy dosing pumps with a calibration feature

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
It already includes that function.


SorsCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/12/2017, 10:03 AM   #2547
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
I was thinking of a controller that has alexa interface, but someone just came out with a new alexa skill for apex controller. I think network enabled devices nowadays pretty much use a cloud service. any ideas on how to implement such a setup? using cloud eliminates the need to do port forwarding and other network configuration. The issue with apex cloud service is the lag/latency is too big. I think it is an implementation issue, as I use other devices that I'm sure has way more users than apex and response is fast.

I see smartthings hub now goes for $49. wondering if it is feasible to build a controller running as a smartthings device. outlets can probably use existing/available smart outlets.

sors, you moved from CO to MO?


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/12/2017, 03:16 PM   #2548
SorsCode
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 132
d0ughb0y - Yes sir I did. I moved June of 2016. Work had an opportunity out here for me that worked out. It also put me closer to home. I'm originally from Ohio. I'm still following this project closely. If you need me to setup anything for testing, let me know. I got a whole new workstation setup for my projects. I started playing with your v2 concept, but have a Teensy 3.6 in place of the Teensy 3.2 for the extra GPIO.


SorsCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/12/2017, 03:27 PM   #2549
djmx2002
Premium Member
 
djmx2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 355
D0ughb0y, you will need to post status updates to the cloud, and have some kind of an interface there that will listen to those.

This can be quickly prototyped with Lambda, and basic databse like dynamo or just s3 storage. Ping me if you want to discuss a way to try it out. I don't have your board, but have been following this thread since almost the beginning. Really awesome work!

I think the only downside, and latency problems will come from how often the device post/pull data from the cloud. A way around it could be using MQTT, which works by establishing a pub channel, and have the apex subscribe to that. that way both the controller and the cloud software could post an re-act to events on that bus.


djmx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12/12/2017, 04:30 PM   #2550
d0ughb0y
Registered Member
 
d0ughb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 5,165
sors, I bet you got to experience the full eclipse in stl.

djmx or anyone, link to some reading material or good examples will help so I can get an idea what's involved.

thanks.


d0ughb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2024 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2022
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.