Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > More Forums > Reef Club Forums > SouthWest Region-Reef Club Forums > Southwest Tank And Reef Society (STARS)
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/15/2010, 11:29 PM   #1
Jay508
STARS Vice President

Question Hyposalinity Treatment

Well, I think I may have found a bit of trouble......
In the last couple of days I have noticed an outbreak of what I am almost positive is Ich, having been through this once before and suffering the consequences. It appears to have started on the female bluejaw I picked up last week and she has the most spots but it is also noticeable on the male bluejaw and my dussemeri tang.

There is nothing but fish in my tank right now so I think I would like to try and treat with hyposalinity to try to rid the tank of the parasite. I have never tried this before and could use some advice. First, is it ok to do this in the display as there is only fish. The stock list is:

Bluejaw pair
Dussemiri Tang
Filefish
Mystery Wrasse
Sunburst Anthia
Cleaner Wrasse
Starry Blenny
Assortment of snails, hermits, conch

Will any of these guys suffer if I drop salinity? How low can I go? I am also concerned because I am leaving town for a long while on thursday. Can I leave the salinity levels low for extended periods of time without negative repercussions?

Any advice given on this would be greatly appreciated. Ideas as well. I plan to start tommorrow by exchanging tank water with regular RO/DI water. Currently my salinity is around 1.024

Thanks in advance.

jay

Current Tank Info: One great big empty tank sitting in a room, one smaller tank (with water) in the corner of a room........
Jay508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/16/2010, 01:06 AM   #2
Jay508
STARS Vice President