Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/14/2012, 06:05 PM   #1
JenC2012
Registered Member

Wink Seahorse tank build from the beginning starting with

This is my first build so I have itemized my equipment and costs. I will post pictures and updates on the project from start to finish. Now, I have a plan on how to put it all together, but I need some help figuring out plumbing. I have a 55g acrylic hex tank: 30" across 24" tall, approx 5' return from sump (purposing a split in return and plan on using tubing).

I am setting the tank up to house seahorses so the return flow will be the only water movement in the tank. I am drilling it for a 1-2 inch overlow (depending on what I find out here) that I will fit with a diy durso standpipe. I will then use the created overflow space (approx 15g) for a refugium to establish large copepod population and grow edible macros for my other tank.

My question is on the return: could I drill for two return bulkheads 3/4" or larger? The plan is to have locline on one side possibly split so I could have concentrated flow in two areas and a diy rainbar on the other.

I plan on purchasing a 1300gph return pump, will this be sufficient/too much/not enough?

I would really appreciate any input you have. This is my first build, wish me luck!

Thank you so much for your insight!

Setup/Cost:
55g Tank and stand:$75
10g sump w/scrap acrylic dividers: $10
50 lbs live rock (CraigsList): $60
Tank Refinishing (Sandpaper + black stain): $20
24" Coralife T5 combo reef light (CL): $50
DIY Overflow box: $81
Plumbing: $30-$50
Return pump: $70-$120
100w heater: $18
50w backup heater: $10
7w UV Sterilizer: $45
JBJ Auto Top-off: $79
Octopus 110 Protein Skimmer: $180
GFCI: $18
Misc. filter/feed: $80

Macro:
Blue Octode: $20
Dragons Breath: $8
Blue Scroll: $7
Red Titan: $7
Halimeda: $5
Calurepa Mexican: $4