Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/29/2014, 02:13 PM   #1
areskasparian
Registered Member

Exclamation what sump to buy

hey guys im new to the hobby and i wanted expert ideas on what sumps to go with. i currently have a 150g tank that im running canister filters on, i have two cannister filters running on it. with coralife 220 protein skimmer. i want to upgrade to a sump and build a refugium money is little tight right now so im looking to get a sump that wont cost me more then 300, are there any brand thats a good sump or what size sump will i need for a 150g tank, i have corals in there as well so i want something tha would be good and wont kill my life stock.

thank you in advance for any comments

areskasparian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/29/2014, 02:32 PM   #2
Zer0.
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by areskasparian View Post
hey guys im new to the hobby and i wanted expert ideas on what sumps to go with. i currently have a 150g tank that im running canister filters on, i have two cannister filters running on it. with coralife 220 protein skimmer. i want to upgrade to a sump and build a refugium money is little tight right now so im looking to get a sump that wont cost me more then 300, are there any brand thats a good sump or what size sump will i need for a 150g tank, i have corals in there as well so i want something tha would be good and wont kill my life stock.

thank you in advance for any comments
If you want to save money just make a sump out of a aquarium like a 40 breeder and some glass baffles. I'm dont have much spare time ( also not super handy )so i just had my LFS build one for me. Cost about 100 bucks.

Zer0. is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/29/2014, 02:59 PM   #3
billdogg
Registered Member