Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Coral Forums > Soft Coral Keepers
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 02/04/2017, 07:42 PM   #1
ServingAces15
Registered Member

New Xenia: How to secure to LR?

Hey guys, I'm new to ReefCentral but part of other forums. I recently started my first reef tank a few months ago and just bought my first 2 corals. One was a green star polyp which has acclimated very well to my tank. The other was a steal. At $10 I got a bunch of pulsing xenia and a few button polyps that were a stowaway on the frag. My LFS frags their corals onto eggcrate instead of plugs, which brings my question. What is the best was to sanction this off and attach it to my rock? I've attached a picture to put a visual to my words. Thanks.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4643.JPG (68.2 KB, 106 views)
ServingAces15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/05/2017, 11:25 AM   #2
themagicman
Registered Member

Your best bet IMO is to cut off a stalk and put it in a small glass bown full of rubble. Place this somewhere in the tank where it won't get blown away and wait for it to attach. Once it's attached to a piece of rubble then you can secure this anywhere you want. Be careful with this stuff though. It has been known to become quite a pest and spread throughout many tanks over the years.

Unread 02/08/2017, 08:45 AM   #3
jayball
Registered Member

X2 on be careful about the spread.

For Xenia I like to snip it off low and run a needle and thread through it. Then you tie the thread around or super glue the thread to rubble. you can then pull the thread out in a few days to a couple weeks after it attaches. Looking at your pictures you may need to wait for it to grow longer stalks for my technique.

jayball is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02/08/2017, 02:16 PM   #4
crawlerman
Registered Member