Reef Central Online Community
Marine Depot

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Tank Journals & Builds
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 08/10/2017, 10:28 AM   #1
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Josh’s back after 7 years 48 gallon T90 build

Well after having kids I got out of the hobby (had a 150 reef before), but now they are older and I finally convinced the wife to setup another tank. This is significantly smaller at 48 gallons but it will allow me to “do things right” and with more patience. This will be and SPS only tank. I want color so I will be adding several types.

Equipment
Reef Octopus T90 luxury with stand
Reef Octopus sump
Reef Octopus 110 skimmer
Eheim return pump
Finnex Heater
Ecotech MP10w
Maxspect Razor R420R LED 180watt Fixture 15K lighting

Sump with equipment


I will be starting with dead base rock. Rock was live but I gave it a Muriatic acid bath and sprayed off all the dead stuff and now it’s very clean. I messed with various aquascaping and finally landed on this which I love!





Behind my tank I have a space under my living room which will house most of my equipment including a top off tank for both RO water and chambers for 2 part, a quarantine tank for new fish, all my electrical, and any controller equipment I decide to add in the future. There is also plenty of room for a frag tank and calcium reactor for the future if I decide to add later.

QT tank on left, top off tanks on right


Wood panel for electrical.


I have a hole in the wall behind my tank where all my lines will run though leaving the family room with a clean look.



Hope you follow along and let me know if you have questions or want to see any up close pictures. Water in the tank starting tomorrow once my RO unit shows from SpectraPure.

JS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/10/2017, 06:07 PM   #2
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
I added a power outlet and mounted a surge protector. I think I’m gonna really like having everything under the crawl space.



I also figured I would add additional photos of my DIY top off and two part 10 gallon tank.




JS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/11/2017, 10:39 PM   #3
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
My RO/DI unit came in today so I installed it and I am getting just under 60 psi and roughly a 4.5:1 ratio. I found out my local water is crap with a TDS into the membrane of roughly 700 ppm and out of the membrane of 14 ppm TDS. I calculated this out to be about a 98% rejection rate which I’m pretty happy with. I tried adjusting the flow restrictor but when I pulled it out, it looked to be already cut. Trying to see what I can do as I am unable to adjust the ratio as of right now.




So I started adding water tonight and the display tank was leaking down to the sump through the overflow pipe. This pipe was never glued in with the previous owner when he had it setup, but I started thinking about the disaster that could occur if the pipe somehow came out. I do not like the sound of 48 gallons of water on my floor so I stopped filling, ran to town for flue, and glued in the pipes. I’m giving it until tomorrow evening to start adding water again.

I also decided the 10 gallon tank was not big enough for a QT tank and the LFS had tanks at $1.00/gallon so I picked up a 20 gallon, a heater, and a hang on back filter. I think this will be much better for a QT.



My plan is to buy at least one fish and place in my QT while the display tank is cycling. As the display cycles I will at the same time be treating the fish I buy with cupramine for at least 4 weeks to kill any parasites. Hopefully I will keep this up for every fish I buy!

JS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 08:25 PM   #4
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Finally got the QT filled and added salt. Hopefully I can add fish soon so I can get them ready for the display tank. I’m thinking a pair of Percula Clowns first.



Next I will add water to the Display tank over next day or 2. I went to some fish stores in the twin cities area and they had some beautiful wrasse and anthias in one of their tanks.




More to come!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 08:51 PM   #5
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
I got most of the water in my tank today, I just have some additional water needed in the sump. I was able to turn on the return pump but the water level is still not where I want it.



I decided to buy some Aquavitro Seed to help speed up the cycle and placed what was called for in both my QT and my display. To start the cycle I added a raw shrimp from the grocery store in my sump and in the QT. I plan to remove them both in 3 days.



I also picked up a small piece of live rock while at the LFS to help seed the tank with different organisms. This piece was practically fully in encrusted with coralline.



Lastly I got my heater and my Vortech MP10w mounted inside my stand above the sump.



JS



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/18/2017, 08:47 PM   #6
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Made some additions to the tank setup including a DIY ATO for my QT and my display tanks. Works very well so far.



I also made a cover for my QT so I don’t have any jumpers. Not sure what I am going to do for the display yet as I like the rimless look.



And finally I added my first fish to my QT, a pair a clowns.



More to come, stay tuned!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/18/2017, 09:57 PM   #7
Sam2832
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montréal
Posts: 22
Welcome back to the hobby!Setting a new system is one of the part i enjoy the most.I will follow your build.


Sam2832 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/18/2017, 10:01 PM   #8
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam2832 View Post
Welcome back to the hobby!Setting a new system is one of the part i enjoy the most.I will follow your build.


Thanks man! I’m very excited to get back in the hobby, especially with the new tech.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/19/2017, 08:45 PM   #9
Sam2832
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montréal
Posts: 22
PBITAWA Is it what you did when you closed your old tank,that would explain the 7 years hiatus...


Sam2832 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/19/2017, 08:47 PM   #10
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam2832 View Post
PBITAWA Is it what you did when you closed your old tank,that would explain the 7 years hiatus...


PBITAWA?? Not sure what that is. Got out before because I had small kids. They grew up


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/19/2017, 10:23 PM   #11
Sam2832
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montréal
Posts: 22
yeah it was a joke about the word above your tank description,i had to goggle it; Pour Bleach In Tank And Walk Away.Maybe it is something you wrote when joining the forum some 13 years ago and since forgot about it (it only appear on the website, not on tapatalk).


Sam2832 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/20/2017, 09:22 AM   #12
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam2832 View Post
yeah it was a joke about the word above your tank description,i had to goggle it; Pour Bleach In Tank And Walk Away.Maybe it is something you wrote when joining the forum some 13 years ago and since forgot about it (it only appear on the website, not on tapatalk).


Ha ha, I remember now. All coming back to me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/20/2017, 09:29 AM   #13
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
So I had a scare with my clowns. One was laying on the sand breathing heavy while the other was swimming around. I did 2 emergency 5 gallon water changes and I end up netting the “sick” one a placing him in the display inside the net in case it was something in the QT water. He started doing better so I ended up moving him back to QT and this morning both are swimming around without issue. Not sure if he was “sick” or just a weird clown. What this will mean is that I won’t be able to add the fish to the display for at least 6 weeks due to potential unwanted itch/parasites in the display now. Not what I wanted to do but emergency called for it.



You know it’s important when you postpone your golf round to focus on your fish. Lol. I also added a small power head for increased water movement. Hoping this kicks up some detritus to get removed.

JS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/20/2017, 10:25 AM   #14
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Well I spoke too soon. My daughter yelled out that the clownfish was laying on its side again. The only change I had made earlier today was increasing the water temp since it was at 72 when I checked this morning. Found out that temp and PH have an affect on toxicity levels of ammonia. My free ammonia when tested was at 0 so I am at a loss. Total ammonia was higher but I had to leave for church. I quickly transferred to my display once again to see if he comes out of it. I’m gonna be surprised if he is alive when I get home quite honestly. Odd thing is how my other clown has showed no issues at all. Crossing my fingers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/20/2017, 12:33 PM   #15
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
Came home and the clown was dead unfortunately. I am not sure why as the other clown shows no signs of issues and is swimming around the tank. He has not eaten yet but that’s to be expected being a new home. I am going to need to buy another clown as I want a pair soon and need them both to be juveniles. Gotta do more testing to see what could be the issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/21/2017, 06:52 PM   #16
Joshsmit56001
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lake Crystal, MN
Posts: 584
I am happy to say that I bought another clown and they both are doing great and eating a bunch. I think I got lucky with a stressed out fish that could not make it unfortunately. I also got my additional float switch for my display and got that installed. I will be gone all weekend for four days so I setup a automatic feeder as well. All is good with the tanks now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
PBITAWA

Current Tank Info: 150 Gallon Reef
Joshsmit56001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright ©1999-2014