Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 08/10/2017, 08:27 PM   #1
Kinetic
Registered Member
 
Kinetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,256
Gyre for a 34g display tank?

Will an IceCap 3K be small enough and effective for a SPS 34g display tank? Do gyres even work on tanks this small?

My goals:
1. enough flow for SPS
2. no dead spots (running bare bottom)

Tank specifics:
- Red Sea Reefer 170
- Bare bottom
- minimal display rock
- a few SPS


__________________
Red Sea Reefer 170
--
Portfolio: http://artchang.com

Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer 170
Kinetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/10/2017, 11:41 PM   #2
Hentz
Registered Member
 
Hentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,980
I ran a Gyre 130 in my Reefer 170.
It was vertical in the back left corner. Created great flow and blended in very well with the black background until it got covered in Coraline.

Ran it at the max time for pulses at 60%. Was perfect for my SPS.


__________________
A Reef in the Desert:
120 Gallon (4x2x2) - MP40 x2 - Gyre 130 - ATI Sunpower - Simplicity Pump/Skimmer - Controlled by Apex
Hentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/10/2017, 11:43 PM   #3
Kinetic
Registered Member
 
Kinetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,256
Thanks for the info!

I actually have a Maxspec 150, brand new in a box that I never used. Thinking of putting it into the 170. i think it's overkill, but i'm pretty sure I can tune it down a bit. Also, is there such thing as overkill when it comes to flow?


__________________
Red Sea Reefer 170
--
Portfolio: http://artchang.com

Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer 170
Kinetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/11/2017, 02:58 PM   #4
Mishri
Registered Member
 
Mishri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 1,390
sure.. when you rip the flesh off the sps or batter lps/softies till they just shrivel and hide.


__________________
300 gallon 8ft long, 2x xf250 gyre, reef octopus 250-int - work in progress
Aquarist since 1986
Mishri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/11/2017, 03:10 PM   #5
moondoggy4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: menifee So cal
Posts: 10,400
Two is always better than one. So I would put two MP10's on it.


moondoggy4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 06:48 AM   #6
Mark Bianco
Maybe, Maybe Not.
 
Mark Bianco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Infinity and Beyond
Posts: 2,329
I tried a 3K in a 40gl cube 24 x 18 and even at the lowest settings 10% either on the back wall or on the side it was way too much. I then went with two Tunze 6040 nano streams and have been very happy with the results. One is actually enough (My GF has one in a 29 Bio cube and it will create a nice wave.) but I like the effect running two opposing each other anti sync.


__________________
Off with their heads.
William Shakespeare Henry VI Part III, 1592:

If it's good enough for my acquaintance Mr. Bianco. It's good enough for me. Barto 2017.
Mark Bianco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 06:55 AM   #7
Ron Reefman
Registered Member
 
Ron Reefman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 10,204
I run the very first Maxspect Gyre (I don't even remember the model number) in a 24'x18"x10" frag tank and I don't have any issues. Yes, it's dialed way down. And close to the gyre is a lot of flow. The surface flow isn't much of an issue. The flow out the bottom is more of an issue and I just put some rocks under it and it's much better.


__________________
The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it. (Neil deGrasse Tyson)
Visit my build thread http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2593017
Ron Reefman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 11:10 AM   #8
Hentz
Registered Member
 
Hentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,980
I usually would agree with moondoggy but using a Gyre 150 on a Reefer 170 is going to give you more than enough flow and almost essentially cover the depth of your tank. Of course you'll have to dial it way down. But your corals would be covered completely. Plus you have a bigger powerhead for when you upgrade


__________________
A Reef in the Desert:
120 Gallon (4x2x2) - MP40 x2 - Gyre 130 - ATI Sunpower - Simplicity Pump/Skimmer - Controlled by Apex
Hentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 02:07 AM   #9
Kinetic
Registered Member
 
Kinetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,256
Thanks all! I'm probably going to give it a go.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Red Sea Reefer 170
--
Portfolio: http://artchang.com

Current Tank Info: Red Sea Reefer 170
Kinetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014