Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 08/12/2017, 08:35 PM   #1
Mr.Shrimps
Registered Member
 
Mr.Shrimps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Springfield Va
Posts: 109
I can't grow algae

My tank is about two months old and I have 5 fish. I feed frozen mysis everyday. No skimmer, no reactors, etc.

Why do I not get algae? Where are all the nutrients going?

Thanks.


Mr.Shrimps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 08:36 PM   #2
BigT75
Registered Member
 
BigT75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 210
Wow want mine I can't calm mine down


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


BigT75 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 08:39 PM   #3
Valentini89
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Bay county, Fl
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT75 View Post
Wow want mine I can't calm mine down


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lol I hear that I get cyano about once a month.. but I am guessing that is because i use conditioned tap water.


__________________
Only bad things happen fast in reefkeeping.

Current Tank Info: 26g bowfront tank, 20# live sand, 33# live rock-- 150 g build in the works
Valentini89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 09:45 PM   #4
ichthyogeek
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California for School, Arkansas for home
Posts: 722
How often do you do water changes? Is the sand new? How big is the tank? What could be happening is that the tank's currently acting as a phosphate sink (the sand and rock are binding phosphates), and once it gets filled to capacity...boom, the algae's coming in with a vengeance.


__________________
So many fish/corals/inverts to keep/breed, not enough aquaria

Technically on hiatus from the hobby until 2020 or so...I'll pop up every once in a while
ichthyogeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/12/2017, 09:59 PM   #5
Mr.Shrimps
Registered Member
 
Mr.Shrimps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Springfield Va
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichthyogeek View Post
How often do you do water changes? Is the sand new? How big is the tank? What could be happening is that the tank's currently acting as a phosphate sink (the sand and rock are binding phosphates), and once it gets filled to capacity...boom, the algae's coming in with a vengeance.
I haven't done a water change since I started the tank two months ago. The sand was brand new. It is a 40 gallon. The only bit of algae I have seen is some diatoms.


Mr.Shrimps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 12:22 AM   #6
ahuaia
Registered Member
 
ahuaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 198
There could be so many reasons that you don't have algae yet that's a hard question to answer. My tank didn't have algae for about 6 months and then I add one frag to my system and boom algae everywhere.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk


ahuaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 12:28 AM   #7
Mr.Shrimps
Registered Member
 
Mr.Shrimps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Springfield Va
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahuaia View Post
There could be so many reasons that you don't have algae yet that's a hard question to answer. My tank didn't have algae for about 6 months and then I add one frag to my system and boom algae everywhere.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
What could be some reasons?


Mr.Shrimps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 12:37 AM   #8
djbon
Registered Member
 
djbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, MY
Posts: 799
Just be careful with what you wish for hehehhe. Hopefully we won't see another thread from you looking for help getting rid algae. It will pop once your tank is ready for it, don't worry too much for now.


__________________
75 gallon DT, 5 gallon sump, DIY LED bar with moonlight, DIY Arduino controller

Current Tank Info: 75 gallon/Arduino Controller
djbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 01:28 AM   #9
vhuang168
Registered Member
 
vhuang168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,105
Give it time. It will come.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Vincent

40g custom AIO --> DSA190Pro
vhuang168 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 03:38 AM   #10
Reeferparty
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 359
Since you haven't done a water change since you started, I highly recommend doing so after the cycle


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Reeferparty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 08:51 PM   #11
Jon0807
Registered Member
 
Jon0807's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 272
I didn't get any algae at all for a few months. My phosphates and nitrates were super high too. Then I decided to use this phosphate removing pad and GHA exploded all over my tank. I can't explain why, maybe it's just coincidence. But as others have said, be careful what you wish for.


__________________
40g breeder DT, 40g breeder sump
Jon0807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/13/2017, 08:57 PM   #12
djbon
Registered Member
 
djbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, MY
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon0807 View Post
I didn't get any algae at all for a few months. My phosphates and nitrates were super high too. Then I decided to use this phosphate removing pad and GHA exploded all over my tank. I can't explain why, maybe it's just coincidence. But as others have said, be careful what you wish for.
It is all about nutrient balancing which we don't truly understand. A matured tank knows how to deal with it naturally, a lot of "old" tank have tons of nutrients and not a single algae is visible.


__________________
75 gallon DT, 5 gallon sump, DIY LED bar with moonlight, DIY Arduino controller

Current Tank Info: 75 gallon/Arduino Controller
djbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014