Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 07/29/2017, 05:33 PM   #1
rxf0621
Registered Member

Smile Help on stand design for new 240

Hello, I have been following for years but this is my first time posting. My apologies in advance if I am posting in the wrong area.

I am starting a new build for 96x24x24 display tank. It will have a coast-2-coast overflow box (additional 5" of depth) on the back with a bean-animal drain system.

For various reasons, I want to build a stand that is bigger then the tank area, in this case 108x32 instead of the 96x24 tank. Ideally, I would highly prefer not to have vertical supports other then around the perimeter of the stand. The tank would sit against the front edge of the stand, centered left to right.

I have access to a highly skilled welder, but neither of us is comfortable with designing it structurally.

Would love any help that the forum can offer me in terms how you would do it!

Thank you
Bob

rxf0621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/29/2017, 10:42 PM   #2
uncleof6
Registered Member

These tanks require direct vertical support from the bottom of the tank, to the floor, (actually the earth, but that is getting complicated.) Floating a tank without vertical support is a risk. Steel is strong, however it will still deflect, and most steel stand designs assume that the steel is actually spaghetti noodles.

With any stand construction, it is always best to build direct support under the tank, and build out from there. I know it is not what you "want," but practically speaking, it is what you need.