Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/09/2014, 02:45 PM   #1
AoiroKibou
Registered Member

New Saltwater Tank, Fish Suggetions

Hello-
I am new to the Saltwater thing and was wondering what fish are good for a beginners tank about a month old. It is a 75 gallon tank the lvls are good got them tested today. Has two heaters and live sand and rock. Now, I would like some fish and would love some suggestions. I have look around at what is in the stores by me and I like Royal Gramma's, Many different clowns, a few gobies, Snowflake eel, Butterfly's, Tang's, Angle's, and Dwarf Angle's. There are others but I don't remember the name lol

Any suggestions would be very helpful

Thankies in advance

AoiroKibou

AoiroKibou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03/09/2014, 02:49 PM   #2
crissie
Registered Member

Are you planning to have corals? If so this can affect your fish selection.

crissie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03/09/2014, 02:53 PM   #3
AoiroKibou
Registered Member

That is what we are trying to decide ..... I heard some fish can eat anemone

Unread 03/09/2014, 02:59 PM   #4
crissie
Registered Member

Some fish will eat anemone and/or corals in general. As will some crustations/invertebrates.

If you keep your tank as fish and live rock then you have much more choice in fish (you just have to make sure they are compatible with each other. If you add corals then you have less choice of fish, but the corals themselves are also beautiful and add a great deal to the tank.

If I were you I would check out which fish you really really want, then see if they are "reef safe". Or of course you can check out the range of corals and see if they are worth the compromise on fish types.