Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Tank Journals & Builds
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/01/2017, 03:00 PM   #1
rlhanks
Registered Member

Restart. Tear it down and do it right. Sc 150 build

Been in this hobby for several years and we have come to a cross roads, either pull the pin and move on or tear this down and build it right. I have been collecting and piecing together this thing for four or five years. Actually, I have had a fish tank of some sort since my paper route days back in 1984. But this system started four or five years ago. For several years we had this five gallon octagon tank sitting on the counter that separates our family room and kitchen, it housed a fancy goldfish from Petco or Meijers. I came across a 60 gallon complete setup some one had moved to the garage and gave up and sold it for cheap. I was fascinated with the modern way of marine tanks with a sump under the display, I just had to try this. So I brought it home and set it up in our living room. Since then, this has grown into 66" x 24" custom built tank on a steel stand with a forty breeder sump. It has always had potential but I've just thrown things together without enough thought and it has grown into a huge mess. I need to do something.

Some time before Christmas we decided that the living room carpet was going to be changed. Everything in that room was going to be removed including the fish tank. I knew this was coming and what was going to be involved to do this, no small task but I knew it was something that needed to happen. With the existing system there were many red flags, beyond belief that I let it get this far. Everything was running and I just wanted to ignore that a ticking time bomb was sitting there. This was in the back of my mind but since it worked I choose to ignore it, I was very lucky. This is the perfect time to fix all these potential future problems.