Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Tunze
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/13/2018, 09:30 AM   #1
SumptyDumpty
Registered Member
 
SumptyDumpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Royalton
Posts: 94
Tunze 7000 hourly ramp-up ramp-down

Hi,

Tunze 7000 controller question:

Can the Tunze 7000 controller allow a few Tunze 6040 or the large Tunze Turbelle3 to stay at a low percentage for an hour them ramp up to near 100% for a cleanup run on the water column as well as repeat this process?

I have a few Tunze 6040 that I currently use on a mode ramping up and down in seconds,
but that only does the process by seconds.

The situation is for a puffer fish tank that the species seems to come out a bit more or swim/hover easier during the low speeds and water change shut off times, but I obviously like the flow of the tank where the piles of detritus get pushed to the filters better on higher speed modes with help from the Tunze 6040.

- It seems most pumps seem to run better over time when they don't completely shut off and seize up one odd day.
I'm usually there for the time the Tunze 6040 feed mode (off) is used and can catch an issue, but while I'm away, the chances of a powerhead error coming back on is higher.
The old-school way was to set water movement powerheads on a repeat cycle timer capable of long interval times, but that seems to turn off select pumps completely and is not what intended.

Again, I hoped to solve running a Tunze 6040 group on hourly speed/ramp changes or longer hourly times instead of short times in seconds.
It may keep the fish, the filtering process and I at peace.



Thanks


SumptyDumpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2018, 07:28 AM   #2
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,448
On the 7000 you can set storm mode, this will override the program every 1 hour to 7 days and does a preprogrammed storm cycle which culminates in all pump being on at 100%, it is very brief, it lasts about a minute. Otherwise the setting will be largely the same except you can alternate the pumps in two sets and pulse them.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/14/2018, 03:33 PM   #3
SumptyDumpty
Registered Member
 
SumptyDumpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Royalton
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvitko View Post
On the 7000 you can set storm mode, this will override the program every 1 hour to 7 days and does a preprogrammed storm cycle which culminates in all pump being on at 100%, it is very brief, it lasts about a minute. Otherwise the setting will be largely the same except you can alternate the pumps in two sets and pulse them.

Thank for the tips, rvitko

I went ahead and caught the 7000 controller on sale as well as the additional Tunze cord for a heater and and a 3rd Tunze 6040.
So far, I really like the 6040 series.

The video below has a comment (starting at 4min., 38sec. mark) that the device is best used on a mobile platform Apple or Android.

rvitko, Would you agree that it is a better experience?

Tunze Smart Controller 7000 - A Pre-configuration Checklist
Published on Sep 19, 2017
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kyVJtunirU



SumptyDumpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/15/2018, 09:23 AM   #4
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,448
You do need a laptop to install updates, for daily use though an iOS or Android tablet is the ideal, somethings are cumbersome on a phone. For example a phone will typically go to sleep before a pH calibration is done and the lighting graph is too small to easily manipulate on a phone screen.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/15/2018, 04:08 PM   #5
SumptyDumpty
Registered Member
 
SumptyDumpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Royalton
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvitko View Post
You do need a laptop to install updates, for daily use though an iOS or Android tablet is the ideal, somethings are cumbersome on a phone. For example a phone will typically go to sleep before a pH calibration is done and the lighting graph is too small to easily manipulate on a phone screen.
ok. I never thought of the the firmware update options yet. A $50-100 tablet should be a nice upgrade to keep in the fish room.

The firmware comes along in spurts.
Where can I see how often they have been tossing out the updates as I'm sure it is documented somewhere?


SumptyDumpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/15/2018, 04:17 PM   #6
rvitko
RC Sponsor
 
rvitko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin Texas USA
Posts: 35,448
There was a flurry of updates in the first few months and 1.3 is the latest, 2.1 is the same version only for a different mother board version inside. Since there are no major bugs, there are a few glitches on certain platforms/browsers that affect appearance, another update is unlikely for a while. We have a bigger plan for the 7000 and as the other companion products get closer, updates will come.


__________________
Roger Vitko
Tunze USA

"He's for every one of us, stands for every one of us, he'll save every man, woman and child in a mighty Flash!"

Current Tank Info: 210 gallon planted tank with Altum Angelfish
rvitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/15/2018, 09:36 PM   #7
SumptyDumpty
Registered Member
 
SumptyDumpty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Royalton
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvitko View Post
There was a flurry of updates in the first few months and 1.3 is the latest, 2.1 is the same version only for a different mother board version inside. Since there are no major bugs, there are a few glitches on certain platforms/browsers that affect appearance, another update is unlikely for a while. We have a bigger plan for the 7000 and as the other companion products get closer, updates will come.
Thank you again.
I look forward to tinkering with the 7000 controller and a few 6040 Nano pumps placed in a Tetraodon schoutedeni tank of puffers.


SumptyDumpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.