Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Special Interest Group (SIG) Forums > Nano Reefs
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 10/11/2017, 08:14 AM   #1
Haggisman14
Registered Member

Filter Floss: Clean/swap out?

Hey everyone, I'm new to the word of biocubes, and I just wanted to confirm something I read through searching. I have a pad of filterfloss in the InTank media basket. From what I've read, this should be changed out every 3-4 days, otherwise I can get nitrate spikes.

Should I be placing only one piece of filterfloss in the container, or does it make sense to place two of them stacked together.

This is my first time with an all in one tank, so I'm still learning the ropes on this one as it cycles. Down the road I'm probably going to add a skimmer to chamber 1, a controller for the Kessil 160, and an ATO. Otherwise I'm trying to keep this simple.

Thanks!

Current Tank Info: Oceanic Biocube 29 Gallon, Kessil A160WE LED Light, inTank Media Basket w/Chemipure/Purigen combo
Haggisman14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/11/2017, 10:27 AM   #2
LedZep fan2
Registered Member

Toss them after using them. There is no sure fire way to remove all the gunk that gets clogged in the floss. Plus the floss itself is super cheap. Depending on the thickness of the floss you can get away with 1 layer. When I use the inTank media floss I usually just use one layer. I actually use the floss for roughly a week and just change it when doing water changes.

Hope this helps!

>120 Gallon Reef<
Fish- Multicolor Angel, Pair of Clowns, Purple Tang, Blue Spotted Jawfish

Current Tank Info: 120 gallon, 12 gallon nano
LedZep fan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10/11/2017, 12:18 PM   #3
Haggisman14
Registered Member

Hey Rich, thanks! I am using the inTank floss, so I'll try just using one pad at a time. I got their bulk sheet for something like $7....probably plenty for a full year of swapping once per week.