Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Advanced Topics
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/16/2017, 09:16 PM   #9276
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,135
This claims 1200W with 120 x 10W LEDs


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape
karimwassef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2017, 09:24 PM   #9277
br88dy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Sorry if I'm throwing a cog in the "Settling Tank" wheel discussion, but I wanted to share how successful my nano ATS has become.

-Overflow ATS, 1.5"X4", lit on one side
-160 GPH Pump
-(4) 660nm LED's, 4" from the screen, on 24/7
-Less than a cube of food a day.

I've scrubbed the screen once and this is 3 days after the first scrub.

You could say the screen has matured!

I'll adjust the lighting period when the growth becomes really light colored, but for now it's still on the darker side. It is a lot greener than in the picture, but still not a nice bright green. Will keep everyone updated if anyone cares.


br88dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2017, 10:10 PM   #9278
SantaMonica
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Santa Monica, CA, USA
Posts: 2,170
Horizontal river styles tend to grow darker, because the air/water interface is not as turbulent. But it looks good and should work well.


__________________
Inventor of the easy-to-DIY upflow scrubber, and also the waterfall scrubber with removable growth compartment:
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1424843

Current Tank Info: 70g reef test pond, 10g test fw community; 2g test guppy
SantaMonica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2017, 10:12 PM   #9279
br88dy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by SantaMonica View Post
Horizontal river styles tend to grow darker, because the air/water interface is not as turbulent. But it looks good and should work well.
This isn't a horizontal scrubber. Water flows over my AIO overflow and my screen is hanging on the wall below the teeth. Water runs down the screen.


br88dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/16/2017, 10:20 PM   #9280
DamonG
Registered Member
 
DamonG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by karimwassef View Post
This claims 1200W with 120 x 10W LEDs
Hmmnnn.. That's quite a bit dude.. How large is your area? I forgot.. I'm asking because my 300 is pretty strong on my scrubber.. I have the 600 on my tub, but only using the blue and red channels because with the white on, it was too much. .

I would suggest one if you want on that wattage, get one with channel on/off control.. Simply because it doesn't seem like it, but those grow led units can fry some algea. . I didn't think it was a big deal until I got the 600 unit.. But then, my 600 has optics on it.. 1200 might be a bit much with all of the colors on.. Even up high.. But worth the experiment.. Lol..
Quote:
Originally Posted by karimwassef View Post
Anyone looked at this light for an ATS

https://www.amazon.com/Double-Spectu.../dp/B01JLKUA2W


From note 5


DamonG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 12:18 AM   #9281
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,135
I'm running my DIY 600W on a 3' x 5' "tub" and I'm fine with it. I'm curious about this much light and any benefits to the colors.

My 600W is very distributed though (~ 2' x 4' lightsheet). This 1200W is very dense... not sure it would work well.

My previous ATS screen was running 300W screens x 2 (one on each side). The ATS was ~ 3' x 4'.


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape
karimwassef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 06:06 AM   #9282
MiddletoM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by SantaMonica View Post
An example VERTICAL upflow or waterfall screen size is 3 X 4 inches = 12 square inches of screen (7.5 X 10 cm = 75 sq cm) with a total of 12 real florescent watts (not equivalent watts) of light, or half that for LEDs, for 18 hours a day. If all 12 watts (6 watts LED) are on one side, it is a 1-sided screen. If the watts are divided on each side of the screen, it is a 2-sided screen. This should be able to handle the following amounts of daily feeding:

1 frozen cube per day (2-sided screen), or
1/2 frozen cube per day (1-sided screen), or
10 pinches of flake food per day (2-sided screen), or
5 pinches of flake food per day (1-sided screen), or
10 square inches (60 sq cm) of nori per day (2-sided screen), or
5 square inches (30 sq cm) of nori per day (1-sided screen), or
0.1 dry ounce (2.8 grams) of pellet food per day (2-sided screen), or
0.05 dry ounce (1.4 grams) of pellet food per day (1-sided screen)
I'll be honest, this thread makes me feel like this...

Im really struggling to get my head round it all, it kind of seems overly complicated (I know its all well calculated).

For a waterfall ATS...

Can someone confirm for 2 frozen cubes per day I will need a 1 sided screen of 48 square inches with 24 watts of LEDs all on the same side?

Then if I lit the same screen from both sides 12 watts each side it would take 4 cubes per day?


What happens when I want to increase the number of fish or the amount I feed?
What if my screen is over sized? say 72 square inches lit from one side?

48" square inch sized screen would only be about 7"x7" which seems tiny compared to the ATS's people have made.


MiddletoM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 08:43 AM   #9283
notenoughtanks
Registered Member
 
notenoughtanks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by br88dy View Post
Sorry if I'm throwing a cog in the "Settling Tank" wheel discussion, but I wanted to share how successful my nano ATS has become.



-Overflow ATS, 1.5"X4", lit on one side

-160 GPH Pump

-(4) 660nm LED's, 4" from the screen, on 24/7

-Less than a cube of food a day.



I've scrubbed the screen once and this is 3 days after the first scrub.



You could say the screen has matured!



I'll adjust the lighting period when the growth becomes really light colored, but for now it's still on the darker side. It is a lot greener than in the picture, but still not a nice bright green. Will keep everyone updated if anyone cares.


I have a similar setup in the back of my Fluval M60 but with 1/2" pvc coming off a little eheim pump and teed to return. Light hung on the back off of the tank. It has it's ups and downs. I run it 16hrs/day and sometimes it gets nice thick green stuff and others it's brown slime. I clean it weekly. Ultimately has stopped all algae growth in display and I only have to clean the glass every 10-12 days. Glad to see someone else has shoehorned one into a nano!


notenoughtanks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 10:44 AM   #9284
Twinfallz
Registered Member
 
Twinfallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: shellharbour australia
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiddletoM View Post
I'll be honest, this thread makes me feel like this...

Im really struggling to get my head round it all, it kind of seems overly complicated (I know its all well calculated).

For a waterfall ATS...

Can someone confirm for 2 frozen cubes per day I will need a 1 sided screen of 48 square inches with 24 watts of LEDs all on the same side?

Then if I lit the same screen from both sides 12 watts each side it would take 4 cubes per day?


What happens when I want to increase the number of fish or the amount I feed?
What if my screen is over sized? say 72 square inches lit from one side?

48" square inch sized screen would only be about 7"x7" which seems tiny compared to the ATS's people have made.
For each cube equivalent you need 12 square inches of screen, illuminated on both sides.
Think of it as two screens because you are illuminating a total of 24 sq inches (12 sq each side.

So, if you are only going to illuminate a screen on one side, you need a screen that is twice the area, 24 sq inches.

Or imagine it this way. When illuminated on both sides, think of the screen as a piece of paper folded in half.
Now, when illuminated on one side only the paper will need to be unfolded, & all the lighting will be on one side instead of two sides.


Twinfallz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 10:54 AM   #9285
MiddletoM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinfallz View Post
For each cube equivalent you need 12 square inches of screen, illuminated on both sides.
Think of it as two screens because you are illuminating a total of 24 sq inches (12 sq each side.

So, if you are only going to illuminate a screen on one side, you need a screen that is twice the area, 24 sq inches.

Or imagine it this way. When illuminated on both sides, think of the screen as a piece of paper folded in half.
Now, when illuminated on one side only the paper will need to be unfolded, & all the lighting will be on one side instead of two sides.
ok thanks, think i have that right in my head now. what happens if i decide to start feeding more? would i then have to get a bigger ATS?

Am i right in thinking having a bigger screen than necessary is a bad thing?


MiddletoM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 11:45 AM   #9286
Twinfallz
Registered Member
 
Twinfallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: shellharbour australia
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiddletoM View Post
ok thanks, think i have that right in my head now. what happens if i decide to start feeding more? would i then have to get a bigger ATS?

Am i right in thinking having a bigger screen than necessary is a bad thing?
You can double the screen size you need, no problem, especially if the only other nutrient export method you use is live rock.

too small is no good really.


Twinfallz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 12:28 PM   #9287
DamonG
Registered Member
 
DamonG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by karimwassef View Post
I'm running my DIY 600W on a 3' x 5' "tub" and I'm fine with it. I'm curious about this much light and any benefits to the colors.

My 600W is very distributed though (~ 2' x 4' lightsheet). This 1200W is very dense... not sure it would work well.

My previous ATS screen was running 300W screens x 2 (one on each side). The ATS was ~ 3' x 4'.
The only thing from what you already know, honestly is that it's going to grow extremely fast(which to me is always good).. If you put it on your settling tank, it's going be insane! Like good insane imho.. Only thing that I have run into no nutrient levels, to the extreme.. But I'm still running my scrubber and the fuge with the 600 watt.. You may have to play with your timing as far as the duration, so it doesn't burn at first.. But I'm sure you will like it and the results..

I just want to stress that it's going to grow extremely fast.. I can, in my cheato harvest on Monday and by Saturday, most of it has grown back.. This is with my 600 watt only running the red and blue channels(not the white).. With 1200 watts, I'd think your going to be looking at, at least the same or more realistically, even faster growth..

Which, for your settling chamber, is probably going to be awesome fun! And your nutrients, if you have any at all, will certainly disappear, even as much as I believe I read at one point you feed.. That's my opinion on what I've experienced..

Keep updated as I think personally it's going to be interesting and fun..

From note 5


DamonG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 12:39 PM   #9288
MiddletoM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinfallz View Post
You can double the screen size you need, no problem, especially if the only other nutrient export method you use is live rock.

too small is no good really.
ok well thats good news. i thought there were issues with the algae not growing thick because of the large surface area for it to grow on.


MiddletoM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 03:27 PM   #9289
br88dy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by notenoughtanks View Post
I have a similar setup in the back of my Fluval M60 but with 1/2" pvc coming off a little eheim pump and teed to return. Light hung on the back off of the tank. It has it's ups and downs. I run it 16hrs/day and sometimes it gets nice thick green stuff and others it's brown slime. I clean it weekly. Ultimately has stopped all algae growth in display and I only have to clean the glass every 10-12 days. Glad to see someone else has shoehorned one into a nano!
Oh that's clever! Did you make your own LED fixture like me or did you buy something for it?


br88dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 03:35 PM   #9290
br88dy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiddletoM View Post
ok well thats good news. i thought there were issues with the algae not growing thick because of the large surface area for it to grow on.
You might want to look further into this because I've seen examples of screens being too big and not enough nutrients to grow thick algae. Mine included. ATS's don't seem to be an exact science, though, so do whatever works for you. I had to stray a bit from the "normal" lighting schedule for new scrubbers in order to get any initial growth.

From what I've seen after following this thread for a long time, if you have a 1 cube screen and want to double it, you will probably have to break in a new screen that's twice the size. Feeding 1 cube on a 2 cube screen might not give you enough nutrients to remove nitrates from your tank in a timely manner. But, I'm no expert and I could easily be wrong. There's lots of anecdotal evidence that SantaMonica and Turbo can explain better than most people here.


br88dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 03:39 PM   #9291
Twinfallz
Registered Member
 
Twinfallz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: shellharbour australia
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by br88dy View Post
You might want to look further into this because I've seen examples of screens being too big and not enough nutrients to grow thick algae. Mine included. ATS's don't seem to be an exact science, though, so do whatever works for you. I had to stray a bit from the "normal" lighting schedule for new scrubbers in order to get any initial growth.

From what I've seen after following this thread for a long time, if you have a 1 cube screen and want to double it, you will probably have to break in a new screen that's twice the size. Feeding 1 cube on a 2 cube screen might not give you enough nutrients to remove nitrates from your tank in a timely manner. But, I'm no expert and I could easily be wrong. There's lots of anecdotal evidence that SantaMonica and Turbo can explain better than most people here.
I feed 2 cubes a day.
I have a 4 cube set-up.
The algae has no problem growing at all.
The limitations to growth are PO4, NO3, & bicarbonate levels.


Twinfallz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/17/2017, 03:45 PM   #9292
br88dy
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinfallz View Post
I feed 2 cubes a day.
I have a 4 cube set-up.
The algae has no problem growing at all.
The limitations to growth are PO4, NO3, & bicarbonate levels.
Okay interesting! There must have been something else going on with those other scrubbers I saw that couldn't pull it off. There are so many variables with these things, but once they all get dialed in it's a lot easier.


br88dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:02 AM   #9293
MiddletoM
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 107
hmmm well even with an oversized screen you could put opaque black acrylic sheets in between the light and screen to limit the growth to a certain area. This way I suppose you then have room for growth if feeding increases.


MiddletoM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:39 PM   #9294
MidwesternTexan
Average Joe
 
MidwesternTexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: A Texan, in Franklin, WI.
Posts: 595
Karim,

You posted your Salinity: 'Salinity 30ppm'

30? My reef runs a steady 35. ??


__________________
180g Reef- 75+ different Corals; 14 fish; DIY Coast to Coast Overflow
3 x 120W Full Spectrum/Dimmable LED's
125g DIY sump- Reef Octopus nw200-6540B -
40B FT- ~320gallon system total
DIY Large ATS

Current Tank Info: 180g- C2C overflow- 125g sumpk 40B FT; Lots of Coral- mostly sps
MidwesternTexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:20 PM   #9295
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,135
Yes. I've experimented with 30-40 and I found that, for my system, slightly lower salinity is better. That's only true if I keep my Alk, Ca and Mg up though. Mg is the tricky one. I have to keep it artificially high relative to the overall salinity.

I wouldn't necessarily advise it. I'm not sure why it works better for me. The chemists on here say it shouldn't be good. Without a solid theory, I would be cautious in another tank.

I keep my pH artificially alternating between 8.1 and 8.4 with time-controlled Kalk and I inject a lot of air. The weird combination injects a lot of CO2 through aeration (coverts to carbonates) and then a lot of carbonate again through kalk... but I keep it at 8.5dKH.

So... not normal. I don't know what each individual control does but it works so well, I'm not rocking the boat.


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape

Last edited by karimwassef; Yesterday at 08:26 PM.
karimwassef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:15 PM   #9296
MidwesternTexan
Average Joe
 
MidwesternTexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: A Texan, in Franklin, WI.
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by karimwassef View Post
Yes. I've experimented with 30-40 and I found that, for my system, slightly lower salinity is better. That's only true if I keep my Alk, Ca and Mg up though. Mg is the tricky one. I have to keep it artificially high relative to the overall salinity.

I wouldn't necessarily advise it. I'm not sure why it works better for me. The chemists on here say it shouldn't be good. Without a solid theory, I would be cautious in another tank.

I keep my pH artificially alternating between 8.1 and 8.4 with time-controlled Kalk and I inject a lot of air. The weird combination injects a lot of CO2 through aeration (coverts to carbonates) and then a lot of carbonate again through kalk... but I keep it at 8.5dKH.

So... not normal. I don't know what each individual control does but it works so well, I'm not rocking the boat.
If it's not there already, this ATS 'tub' and whatever you're doing deserves it's own thread. Nice Work and from my former stomping grounds of TX too.


__________________
180g Reef- 75+ different Corals; 14 fish; DIY Coast to Coast Overflow
3 x 120W Full Spectrum/Dimmable LED's
125g DIY sump- Reef Octopus nw200-6540B -
40B FT- ~320gallon system total
DIY Large ATS

Current Tank Info: 180g- C2C overflow- 125g sumpk 40B FT; Lots of Coral- mostly sps
MidwesternTexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:00 PM   #9297
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8,135
true. I apologize for occasionally hijacking this threat but I learned so much from it, that I feel like sharing here.

I also need a better name for it - settling tank turf scrubber (STTS)?

settling tank turf refugium (STTR)?

I starting digging under the highest layers of turf and I found grape caulerpa in there. I've never had grape caulerpa - so,.... weird. I'll need to do a deep dive and see what's really in there.


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape
karimwassef is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
algae scrubber/heavy metals charles matthews Randy Holmes-Farley 6 11/03/2016 09:32 PM
xenia scrubber instead of algae scrubber? dolt SPS Keepers 40 04/07/2011 12:34 PM
Try again: Is anybody running an algae scrubber as primary filter. Frick-n-Frags Reef Discussion 166 08/03/2008 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014