Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/22/2017, 12:28 PM   #1
CoralFrida
Registered Member

Question Full Automation: How man dosing pumps

Hi Everyone,
I am new to the salt water tank world and I want to start a fully automated system. How many dosing pumps do I need? Here is my list so far, am I missing anything or is something not needed as a programmed dose. This is based on the Red Sea Mixed Reef recipe.

1. Automatic water changes: clean water source and empty vessel
2. Calcium
2. Magnesium
4. KH/Alkalinity
5. NO3:PO4
6. Trace elements
7. Reef Energy A
8. Reef Energy B

Thanks!

CoralFrida is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/22/2017, 12:42 PM   #2
ktownhero
Registered Member

The only thing "needed" are the first 4, and those should really be 3 because I believe Mag gets mixed in with one of the other two.

ktownhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/22/2017, 01:37 PM   #3
jayball
Registered Member

You'll need 2 heads for the auto water change. 6, 7, and 8 can go. 5 is really not needed, especially in the beginning.

The CA, ALK, and MG should be on 3 pumps so you can use generic stuff instead of expensive premix but if I were to start over I would have bit the bullet early on and gone with a CA reactor instead of dosing salts and Kalk.

jayball is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/22/2017, 01:39 PM   #4
hkgar
Registered Member

You don't want to dose Nitrates or Phosphates. They need to be removed.

I dose vinegar only. Calcium reactor for Alk and calcium, I have pumps for auto water change and auto top off. I have an Apex controller to monitor all of them and turn on/off based on my established parameters. Trace elements com from water changes and help with what Ree Energy A & B are? Probably not needed and some sort of snake oil. There is a lot of it, sadly, in this industry. Probably more than in arthritis cures.