Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 04/24/2015, 01:15 PM   #1
JamesFocker
Registered Member

Exclamation Murder Mystery

Hi All -

I am a fairly new saltwater hobbyist. I started with a well established 72 gallon FOWLR system. My step dad had the tank for 6 years and then we moved the whole system, fish, water, rock and all to my house. I enjoyed the tank so much I bought a 150 gallon tank so that I could get more fish. Again, I transferred the live rock and fish to the next tank along with new live sand and more live rock. I have 30 gallon sump with nice Reef Octopus protein skimmer, Empire Aquatics UV sterilizer and Little Giant pump. I also have two wavemakers that help circulate the water. The tank is generally beautiful. No algae, no nitrates, nitrites, ammonia, pH is always perfect, salinity is steady at 1.18; however I cannot seem to keep fish. Shortly after I got the new tank setup all of my fish died over a period of about 6 weeks. I suspected a parasite, so I added the UV steralizer and left the tank empty for 4 weeks. I actually managed to save one fish, a stars and stripes puffer, which I quarantined and dosed with copper and malachite green during this four week period. Since then the puffer has thrived, but most other fish die within a few days to a few weeks of being introduced to the system. I now have the stars and stripes puffer, a squirel fish, a sail fin tang and a bicolor angel. They have been okay for about 4 months, but about once a month I try to add more fish and they always die! I have the water tested and every time it's perfect. I have checked for stray voltage too and it is minimal. What is going on? Can anyone help me solve this murder mystery???? There is usually no sign of disease, no white spots, no pop-eye.... they just seem fine for a few days, eating, socializing normally, then boom, I wake up to dead