Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/15/2018, 06:43 PM   #1
LadyV
Registered Member

Newbie in need of advice

Hey all, Teresa here, I’m new to the reefkeeping scene and am in need of some pointers, advice, otherwise known as HELP. Started up my aquarium in Jan (great Christmas gift) and truthfully I am having a blast. I love this hobby. I’m a retired RN by trade and so a lil obsessive about cleanliness in my tank. Things have been going great thus far and I have learned a lot by reading and researching. My tank has been going through all the normal stuff a beginner tank goes thru to include the dreaded Cyanobacteria stage. In fact I’ve been dealing with this bugger since mid June. I’ve treated with Chemiclean 5x so far. The first time was great, every subsequent treatment seemed to be less effective. The last treatment nothing....now mind you I have folowed the directions to the letter has advised by all so I don’t think that is the issue. At this point the only thing I can find is maybe I’m doing too much treatment and massive water changes. My water parameters have always been really good for a beginner tank. I’m at a loss, what is the problem and why the cyano won’t move on. Oh yeah feeding is one my sis cube daily with spirulina pellets

Sal. 1.026, temp 78, pH 8.4, NO2 0, NH3 0,Alk 8.9, NO3 5ppm, phos 0.00 Hanna checker, Ca+ 400

Critters
Diamond goby
Hawkfish
2 chromis
Midas blenny
Lawnmower blenny
Fairy wrasse
3 firefish
Yellow tang
2 clownfish
Scooter blenny
3 turbo snails
4 hermit crabs
2 tiger conchs

Corals - pulsing Xenia, frogspawn, brain coral, 2 Duncan’s, blue cespitularia,Pom Pom Xenia, green acropora, flowerpot, torch, green star polyp