Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > EcoTech Marine
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/19/2017, 07:17 PM   #1
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 118
Need power adapter help MP10 and Vectra L1

I bought a bunch of used stuff and it included an MP10 and the L1 pump. The power adapter fits both, but I'm not sure which one it really belongs to. I don't want to underpower the L1 pump since it's being used as a return with about 11 ft of head pressure.

The adapter I have says the following on it:

autec power supply
Model: gpe072d-320225w
P/N: dt720d-320225w
Approval No: gma-103322-ea-009

Also, ecotech wants something like $150 for this cord. Is there a generic replacement anywhere I can use? I can't find any exact replacement.


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 11:27 AM   #2
geckoejon
Registered Member
 
geckoejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: cocoa, florida
Posts: 1,210
Tagging along... I'm looking for power pack info for the m1 and mp's.... I can't find it on their site or manuals...


__________________
jonathan
-- always curious, trying to learn, and try to pass along what others have shared with me --

Current Tank Info: 220g mixed reef & a red sea reefer bad fish tank :0)
geckoejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 05:20 PM   #3
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 118
I'll figure something out eventually. I'm sick of these companies buying $5 power adapters from china and then selling them for $150. I think many of these companies purposely use power adapters that are uncommon voltages, just so they can mark them up a lot.


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 06:39 PM   #4
geckoejon
Registered Member
 
geckoejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: cocoa, florida
Posts: 1,210
Yah, I am about done with eco tech... I have been getting the run around on specs...

I have mp10's, mp40 qd, and a m1 vectra... I contact them to find out the specs on the power supplies so I can match them up after I moved the tank, and just get the run around... grr...


__________________
jonathan
-- always curious, trying to learn, and try to pass along what others have shared with me --

Current Tank Info: 220g mixed reef & a red sea reefer bad fish tank :0)
geckoejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 10:03 PM   #5
xssx
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Carson, 90745
Posts: 105


For my MP10. Hope this helps.


xssx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 04:28 AM   #6
geckoejon
Registered Member
 
geckoejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: cocoa, florida
Posts: 1,210
that helps me, and i'm assuming the op as well... thanks!


__________________
jonathan
-- always curious, trying to learn, and try to pass along what others have shared with me --

Current Tank Info: 220g mixed reef & a red sea reefer bad fish tank :0)
geckoejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 03:29 PM   #7
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 118
Yes...that does help some. Now I'm at least sure I got the right one on the MP10. I have ordered one for the vectra and will post up if it works well.


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 03:34 PM   #8
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by geckoejon View Post
Yah, I am about done with eco tech... I have been getting the run around on specs...

I have mp10's, mp40 qd, and a m1 vectra... I contact them to find out the specs on the power supplies so I can match them up after I moved the tank, and just get the run around... grr...
Yeah...because they probably buy them for $10 each and sell them for $150.
I noticed that the Vectra L1 doesn't even have anything on the pump telling how much power it needs. I thought there had to be a label on all electronic devices telling that info.

I have three radions, an MP40, MP10, and vectra L1. The radions are nice lights. The software sucks. They couldn't put in a cancel or save button on the computer software??? and then made it web based also.


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/23/2017, 08:19 PM   #9
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 118
I ordered one for $16.80 and it works like a charm.

The story, to make sure I don't mislead anybody unintentionally:

I bought an L1 as part of a tank breakdown package. Turns out that I didn't get the power adapter. I then bought a new MP40. A few weeks later, an old mag24 return pump failed, so I wanted to put the L1 in its place. I borrowed the adapter off of the MP40 and put it on the L1. It worked well, so I wanted to find another cord so I could use both pumps.

Therefore, I can't really say that this power adapter is exactly what comes with the L1 pump. I just know I've run it for about a week and a half without any problems at all. I'm pumping up about 11ft and it puts out enough that I can't run it wide open or the overflow begins getting pretty noisy.

Here is the part I bought: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

In case that ad gets closed on amazon, here are the specs:
XINY AC Switching Power Adapter DC 32V/3A 32V 3A 96W Power Supply Adapter AC 100v-240v Transformers Interface 5.5x2.5mm Suitable


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/24/2017, 05:29 AM   #10
geckoejon
Registered Member
 
geckoejon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: cocoa, florida
Posts: 1,210
i finally got a response with the info from ecotech....

"The output for the Vectra is 36V and 2.66 amps"


__________________
jonathan
-- always curious, trying to learn, and try to pass along what others have shared with me --

Current Tank Info: 220g mixed reef & a red sea reefer bad fish tank :0)
geckoejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014