Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05/16/2018, 01:53 PM   #1
zoanutty
Registered Member
 
zoanutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 166
How do I "tie" 4 tanks together?

In my eternal quest to complicate my life, I have come upon the idea of "tying" 4 tanks together. Two of those tanks are currently tied.

My 210 display is inside my home, and tied to a 100 gal frag tank in the garage, and both feed into a 3-part fuge, which feeds into a 40 gal sump.

Since I needed more space, I recently purchased 2 x 60 gal frag tanks and stacked them one on top of the other. So now I am thinking HOW could I tie those two tanks to the existing system?

My main problem seems to be that the bottom tank does not have its overflow accessible and the only way I can see it happening is if I have the top 60 gravity feed down to the bottom 60, then have a pump in that bottom 60 going to the fuge. Then have another pump from the sump, feeding the top 60.

Honestly, I am afraid of flooding my garage and hearing it from the boss. Is there a better, more efficient way to do it (except NOT to lol)?


zoanutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/16/2018, 02:09 PM   #2
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 15,580
Assuming cascading setup... (one higher than the next)
Top 3 tanks have overflows/drains.. Bottom tank has return pump


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05/16/2018, 02:19 PM   #3
flooddc
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 302
Just run the 2 new tanks drain lines into the same sump. Make a manifold for the return pump and feed each tank from the manifold.


flooddc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/16/2018, 02:26 PM   #4
DIRK GRIFFIN
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: RED WING MINNESOTA
Posts: 229
easy

I just re-read your post....
You need a larger or 2nd sump
You can cascade as many tanks into each other as you want as long as the sump/s can handle all of the water when the power goes out
My largest set up were 7 all flowing to a common sump. 4 tanks directly to the sump, the other 3 cascaded into each other and then flowed into one of the larger tanks...to the sump
Another sump would also work, but I would drill/plumb the 2 sumps together.
2 or more separate sumps leaves you 2+ to worry about running out of water instead of one
Keeping the number of pumps down to a min would also help
Time for a bigger house
Then maybe the van could fit inside the new garage


DIRK GRIFFIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/17/2018, 05:30 AM   #5
Rover88
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoanutty View Post
then have a pump in that bottom 60 going to the fuge. Then have another pump from the sump, feeding the top 60.?
This is a giant nope. Never ever try to use two pumps unless they are both leaving the same sump and are for redundancy.

If you rely on two pumps they will never perfectly match up, and you will either starve one pump and run it dry, or overflow your tank.


Rover88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/17/2018, 09:43 AM   #6
ravi197699
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 536
I agree with Rover, another option is that you can tie these tanks on same level and attach the tanks with bulk heads or uni seal with 2 inch pipes and all the tanks will have same water level based on what you feel comfortable with. this will work if you decide to keep tanks on same level if you are deciding to stack them then you will have to go with overflow these tank into one another...


ravi197699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/17/2018, 11:01 AM   #7
laverda
Registered Member
 
laverda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 6,173
It seems to me the only good solution is to make the bottom tanks overflow accessible or add a new one.


__________________
240G mixed reef, 29G SPS/LPS clam tank, 50G mixed reef

Current Tank Info: 300g mixed reef, 50g cube
laverda is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.