Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/29/2017, 09:08 PM   #1
benbarfield
Registered Member

My First Tank and Build Process

I'm 30 years old and have never had a fish tank before. I've decided it's time to check this off my list. I am completely new to the hobby and have been reading as much as I can about reef keeping based on suggestions for other successful reefers. I'd love to hear any input, comments, and suggestions on how to make this a successful reef tank.

I am planning on doing a mixed reef tank and have yet to decide on the exact size tank to do. I have narrowed down my choice to a 60x24x18 or a 72x24x18. I will post photos of the build process as I go...

I decided on placing the tank in my basement. Unfortunately I do not have space to make a tank room so I am doing a faux cabinet built-in tank. I have a section of my "man cave" that is unused space. The wall is roughly 8 feet long and 8 feet tall.

I started by cleaning the space and painting the wall with an outdoor oil based paint. I didn't think it through, since I painted in the middle of winter in Colorado. The smell was incredibly strong so I had to open the windows. It was really cold down there for the rest of the day. While I waited for the wall to dry I started working on the base frame for the tank.

I cut out the section of carpet and padding on the floor and put down a rubber liner. I also decided to take off the baseboard for allow for a tighter fit against the wall. Then I remember they do floating walls in Colorado basements so now I have a gap I needed to address. I also had an electrician come switch the outlet to a double recepticle GFCI. I've been shocked too many times to try this myself.