Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/18/2017, 12:10 PM   #1
allendehl
Registered Member

Skimmer options for my upcoming Red Sea Reefer 350

Hi there guys,

I am super excited about my first tank coming. Too bad I put the order today with BRS and is passed the cut off for Read Sea so it ships next friday...in 7 days!! Cant wait!!

Ok, in the meantime I'm spending time reading and learning and picking the rest of my equipment.

I am now in the skimmer selection. I am new to the hobby to I don't know about brands or different types to be able to select by myself. Would yo mind helping me our here with possible options? I'd like to stick to BRS since I have a credit there I'd like to use. Below are the brands of skimmers they carry:

Vertex
Skimz
Reef Octopus
Somatic
Tunze
Innovative Marine

As far as what I plan in having, I'd start with rocks and fish, once I get the hang of the hobby I'll get into more complex stuff as corals etc. I still don't have the whole picture because of being a total newbie. I am looking for something that gives me a bit of room to grow w/o adding too much to the budget.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

allendehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/18/2017, 12:38 PM   #2
allendehl
Registered Member

Oh...if it helps I am planing in getting the Sicce Syncra 3.0 return pump.

Unread 08/18/2017, 12:55 PM   #3
slyseekr
Registered Member

Congrats on the tank purchase, and welcome to the burn-a-hole-in-your-wallet stage i.e. gathering equipment stage!

So, based on your tank size, the Tunze and Innovative Marine options are out as they largely make skimmers for smaller /nano systems.