Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > EcoTech Marine
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 04/10/2018, 10:28 AM   #1
Honks69
Registered Member
 
Honks69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Meadowlands, PA
Posts: 286
Help Needed.....Radion Xr30 Pros tripping GFCI breaker

I am in the process of setting up my new tank. I have six forth gen XR30w pros and overnight i keep tripping my GFCI

I have dedicated outlets ran just for my tank and all i have plugged in are the six Radions and four MP60 Qqs. The breaker is a 20amp so even if i had all of these running at 100% i am no where close to overloading the circuit

My home is brand new with all new wiring but i already had the electrician come back out to look at the wiring and they confirmed its wired correctly yet this keeps happening.

All of my equipment was all purchased late last year but never opened until a few weeks ago so they are basically brand new

Does anyone have a suggestion of what i could try?

Thanks in advance


__________________
180 Gallon Reef - 55 Gallon Sump, 40 Gallon fuge, SRO3000int, (2) MP-40wes, Full Apex, (2) photon 32, Speedwave DC 10000 return, Naso, YT, Blue Hippo, (2) Blue Chromis, (3) Pajama Cards, YWG/Pistol

Current Tank Info: 340 Gallon Reef in process
Honks69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/10/2018, 02:19 PM   #2
Member No. 1
Ver. 2.1
 
Member No. 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rehoboth, MA
Posts: 1,435
Try unplugging a different device each night to see if it still trips or is isolated to one particular device

Process of elimination.


__________________
Pete
"I never make mistakes...
I thought I did once, but I was wrong"

Current Tank Info: In the process - http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2661614
Member No. 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/10/2018, 07:17 PM   #3
mfinn
Registered Member
 
mfinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Olympia. WA.
Posts: 8,547
Did the electrician manage to duplicate the event that tripped the circuit?

Did the electrician replace the gfci outlet?
I would have done that myself before evn calling the electrician back.


__________________
240 gallon soft coral tank
50 gallon lps tank
mfinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/11/2018, 05:49 AM   #4
Honks69
Registered Member
 
Honks69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Meadowlands, PA
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Member No. 1 View Post
Try unplugging a different device each night to see if it still trips or is isolated to one particular device

Process of elimination.
thats what i tried last night and i only kept one light plugged in and it didnt trip

tonight ill try two and go from there

Thanks for the reply


__________________
180 Gallon Reef - 55 Gallon Sump, 40 Gallon fuge, SRO3000int, (2) MP-40wes, Full Apex, (2) photon 32, Speedwave DC 10000 return, Naso, YT, Blue Hippo, (2) Blue Chromis, (3) Pajama Cards, YWG/Pistol

Current Tank Info: 340 Gallon Reef in process
Honks69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/11/2018, 05:52 AM   #5
Honks69
Registered Member
 
Honks69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Meadowlands, PA
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfinn View Post
Did the electrician manage to duplicate the event that tripped the circuit?

Did the electrician replace the gfci outlet?
I would have done that myself before evn calling the electrician back.
they pulled the breaker out and swapped it.

The GFCI is in the breaker on on the outlet

We literately just finished building this house a month ago so i wanted them to make sure they did it right

They are blaming the equipment because thye plugged a circular saw into the outlet and ran it and nothing tripped.

last night i ran just one radion and it made it all night so maybe it is just one thats messing up


__________________
180 Gallon Reef - 55 Gallon Sump, 40 Gallon fuge, SRO3000int, (2) MP-40wes, Full Apex, (2) photon 32, Speedwave DC 10000 return, Naso, YT, Blue Hippo, (2) Blue Chromis, (3) Pajama Cards, YWG/Pistol

Current Tank Info: 340 Gallon Reef in process
Honks69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/11/2018, 06:05 AM   #6
Member No. 1
Ver. 2.1
 
Member No. 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rehoboth, MA
Posts: 1,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honks69 View Post
thats what i tried last night and i only kept one light plugged in and it didnt trip

tonight ill try two and go from there

Thanks for the reply
Well that's a good start.

But instead of plugging in 2 lights, continue on to light #2 by itself, then the next night light #3. If after that it doesn't trip, then you can try plugging in 2 light per night, then on to 3.
You want to eliminate the lights. If you plug 2 in right away and it doesn't trip, you go to 3 and it does trip, you won't know which of the last 2 lights you tried was the problem, and you'll be back at square one.


__________________
Pete
"I never make mistakes...
I thought I did once, but I was wrong"

Current Tank Info: In the process - http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2661614
Member No. 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/11/2018, 07:36 AM   #7
Honks69
Registered Member
 
Honks69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Meadowlands, PA
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Member No. 1 View Post
Well that's a good start.

But instead of plugging in 2 lights, continue on to light #2 by itself, then the next night light #3. If after that it doesn't trip, then you can try plugging in 2 light per night, then on to 3.
You want to eliminate the lights. If you plug 2 in right away and it doesn't trip, you go to 3 and it does trip, you won't know which of the last 2 lights you tried was the problem, and you'll be back at square one.
good idea

Thanks


__________________
180 Gallon Reef - 55 Gallon Sump, 40 Gallon fuge, SRO3000int, (2) MP-40wes, Full Apex, (2) photon 32, Speedwave DC 10000 return, Naso, YT, Blue Hippo, (2) Blue Chromis, (3) Pajama Cards, YWG/Pistol

Current Tank Info: 340 Gallon Reef in process
Honks69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/15/2018, 12:05 PM   #8
Sisterlimonpot
R.C. Fraternity President
 
Sisterlimonpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Litchfeild Park AZ
Posts: 11,266
Blog Entries: 2
I never had good luck with GFCI circuit breakers (particularly Square D), I use GFCI outlets at the beginning of each run, makes things easier. If the electrician ruled out the the circuit breaker, and all you have are power supplies plugged into the circuit it will be easy to find the culprit.

I personally wouldn't put any of what you described on a GFCI unless you're at risk of completing the circuit while having a part of you in the water. It just makes for a bad day when that circuit trips while you're away.


__________________
Jimmy
MASVC President

Dishes are done man!

Current Tank Info: 300 in progress
Sisterlimonpot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.