Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 03/14/2010, 07:20 PM   #1
Hightray
Registered Member

Post Sump, size, equipment, construction new to marine aquaria

Hello, I am new to marine aquariums and am doing my research. I have a rectangle Sea Clear acrylic aquarium that I got as a gift (35 gallon). I have been reading as much as I can. I have decided to try to keep it simple for my first foray into marine aquaria. My goal is to have two clownfish and an anenome.

I plan on getting 25lbs of base rock and use 5-10lbs of live rock to seed. I would like to run this for some time to get used to working with a basic configuration. I would like to run this for about 2-3 months before I consider more life in the tank besides perhaps a cleaning crew for the beginning.

I have been reading about sumps. With the stand that I have, I can fit a 10 gallon aquarium inside. I have a hang on the back protein skimmer that has the label AquaC on it (got this as a hand me down) with a pump.

In reading on making sumps it does not seem to be too difficult. But I have questions about preparation, equipment and construction. I plan on drilling holes in the tank to handle input and output of water.

1) Is a 10gal tank sufficient for a sump? I plan on putting the heater, skimmer, and misc materials in there to keep the display tank as clutter free as possible.

2) Drilling the tank, I know that you use diamond bits for glass but I have hole bits for plastic. I am thinking to use 1" bulkheads for input and output of water. Would this bit be proper for drilling? Is 1" sufficient? I read you can use flexible piping. Is this preferable to solid PVC?