Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Reef Discussion
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

View Poll Results: Apex vs. Reef keeper
Apex Fusion 16 100.00%
Reef Keeper Elite 0 0%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

User Tag List

Unread 07/26/2017, 08:21 AM   #1
FishD@ddy
Registered Member

Apex Wifi vs. Reef keeper Elite

Lot of people say "you get what you pay for". But these are 2 different companies and I am new to hobby. My interest is to monitor pH, salinity, temperature. I have a JBJ 45 and plan is for mixed reef. So with the huge difference of 799$ vs. 369$ my head is

What amazes me is the data driven approach in this hobby. No guess work when you know what is happening in your tank all the time. You feel the sense of connection. So please share your experiences with either of the systems and why you chose them. Ease of use, Budget, Expansion, maintenance etc.

Thank you all for your input and help.

FishD@ddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/26/2017, 09:11 AM   #2
Cheapreef
Registered Member

I ran a RKE for awhile then got a great deal on a Apex Gold, they should not even be sold as a compeating product. The Apex is far easier to use/setup and expand.

Cheapreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/26/2017, 09:29 AM   #3
tinfoilsoldier
Registered Member

I have both, and while the Apex isn't perfect, it is far more programmable and easy to do advanced programming on the Apex than is possible on the RKE.

My Apex never false alarms.
My RKE has false alarms weekly.

Current Tank Info: 180G at work, and RSM250 with basement sump at home
tinfoilsoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07/26/2017, 11:40 AM   #4
miktrav
Registered Member