Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Anemones & Clownfish
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 06/06/2019, 09:45 PM   #1
CTaylor
Registered Member

new ritteri(s)

Hi,
I just got two small/medium (was supposed to be one medium /large) ritteri's. Overall to me they look good. But as night approached, and now it is night they both deflated, mouth a small part is out on one and stomach more exposed on the other. *Does this mean 100% they are sick? they have been in my tank for 12 hours.

TY!

CTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/06/2019, 10:51 PM   #2
CTaylor
Registered Member

pic

Here's a pic of both. It looks to me like the left one is healthy (i'm a novice at ritteri) the right not so much. Is it b/c it's been in tank less than 24 hrs, or do I need to treat right now?
Side note, I already have a perc in treatment, and I have the medication on hand. I just need some egg crate and make sure I have a small PH.

TY!

Attached Images
File Type: jpg ritteri1.jpg (83.8 KB, 41 views)
Unread 06/06/2019, 11:49 PM   #3
ThRoewer
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTaylor View Post
Hi,
I just got two small/medium (was supposed to be one medium /large) ritteri's. Overall to me they look good. But as night approached, and now it is night they both deflated, mouth a small part is out on one and stomach more exposed on the other. *Does this mean 100% they are sick? they have been in my tank for 12 hours.

TY!
Yes, deflating to the point of being completely limp and open mouth is a clear indicator that the anemone is sick.
Treatment should be started as soon as possible.

Current Tank Info: 200 gal 4 tank system (40x28x24 + 40B + 40B sump tank + 20g refugium) + 30x18x18 mixed reef + 20g East Pacific biotop + 20g FW +...
ThRoewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06/06/2019, 11:52 PM   #4
ThRoewer
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTaylor View Post