Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 09/24/2014, 11:32 AM   #1
xarkaden
Registered Member

Question 40 Gallon, Skimmer? Sump?

Hello i'm fairly new to saltwater tanks yet fairly versed in freshwater and brackish water tanks. With that in mind i have a question while setting up a 40 gallon fish only or reef tank, do i need a skimmer? if so what would be a good brand for decent power and would i actually need a SUMP for an aquarium this small? currently i will be running 2 fluval aquaclear 50-60 filters giving me 400gph filtration. As well as 2 inch live sand bed and about 50lbs of fiji liverock.

i ask only because i have limited space in the area i want to display the tank and if i can get away with no extra sump or canisters i would love to save the space.

xarkaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/24/2014, 01:09 PM   #2
Wryknow
Registered Member

It's possile to get by without one if you have a large fuge or small bio-load or do a ton of water cahgnes but I wouldn't recommend it - especially for someone new to the hobby. Ther are in-tank or hang on back (or side) skimmers that wouldn't require a sump. The ones I would recommend looking at would be the Tunze 9002 (in tank) or Aquamaxx (hang on) skimmer.

Current Tank Info: 65 G RR, w/ 50 G sump/refugium, DIY LED lighting, AquaMaxx CO-1 skimmer, Tunze 1073.050 return
Wryknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09/24/2014, 01:10 PM   #3
thegrun
Registered Member