Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/20/2017, 07:35 PM   #776
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by erik2302 View Post
Are you using a mac?

I've found that I need to connect, soft reset then pump 1 works. Soft reset and pump 2 will work but pump one won't.

To make changes I have to make the change and calibrate again, soft reset then disconnect.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not using a mac. All 5 internal pumps don't respond at all, nevermind the external DC outputs.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 07:28 AM   #777
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 366
It looks like main power IC is burned by too high current taken by that Litermeters pumps..


Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 07:38 AM   #778
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Interesting that it ran for several hours before all motors stopped responding. So, wouldn't that mean that if any external accessory shorted it would take down the whole pump?

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser

Last edited by andrek787; 03/21/2017 at 07:44 AM.
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 08:40 AM   #779
truepercs
Registered Member
 
truepercs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrek787 View Post
Only 450 euros according to pacsun's FB page. With current exchange rate and VAT factored in that beats the hell out of paying $1250 for kh guardian. If Kore 5th is doing all of the "controller" part, then that make price makes sense. I am hopping it has its own pumps and doesn't require a whole Kore 5th to itself to function.

Przemek, kudos to you guys at Pacific Sun!!!

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk
That would be nice... If the doser works for me without fail I would consider that purchase.


__________________
Truepercs...
truepercs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 08:45 AM   #780
truepercs
Registered Member
 
truepercs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrek787 View Post
Ended up ordering a new Kore 5th starter from Deepwater to use while Pacific Sun attempts to fix the main board on my old one. Great service as usual.

Probably a good choice, it takes a while to get through customs...


__________________
Truepercs...
truepercs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 08:52 AM   #781
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by truepercs View Post
Probably a good choice, it takes a while to get through customs...
$350 shipped was a good deal, considering I paid 600 for my original pro. I do wish they had them in black. P.S did the sheet metal change with the gen 3?, am kinda wondering I can swap internals into my black chassis, lol.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 08:21 AM   #782
vhuang168
Registered Member
 
vhuang168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,865
Gen 3!?! What changed?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Vincent

40g custom AIO --> DSA190Pro
vhuang168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 08:31 AM   #783
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
It was mentioned a few pages back, the switch to White from black pump heads.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 09:06 AM   #784
vhuang168
Registered Member
 
vhuang168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,865
I don't see it. But is that the only change? Are the connections the same in the back? Why the change? If it's a whole new gen, change should be pretty significant other than just a color change.

There was a run of all white dosers late 2015 early 2016 I believe. Were those gen 3?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Vincent

40g custom AIO --> DSA190Pro
vhuang168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 10:01 AM   #785
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Ok, calling the change "gen 3" was misleading, was under the impression that the white and black pump heads was not just a color change. May be Prezmek can chimme in on this


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 11:13 AM   #786
miralami
Registered Member
 
miralami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: OC California
Posts: 140
I have received my doser few days ago.
This thing is a beast, top notch hardware quality.
I had some trouble using the application but I think I found the solution and it's all good and was very easy to calibrate and set it up.
Using windows, the setup should have been opened with "Open as Administrator" option to work without issue. I didn't have this issue with my Pandora light though.

Thanks Pacific Sun!!

Have a question if you guys can help would be great, I had to put the doser on the stand shelf upside down for the pump fitting to be hang downward and connect to my containers, but now the screen is upside down as well. It's not a big deal but just want to make sure I am not doing something stupid !!


miralami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 12:10 PM   #787
vhuang168
Registered Member
 
vhuang168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,865
You can pop the heads off and rotate them 180deg.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


__________________
Vincent

40g custom AIO --> DSA190Pro
vhuang168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 12:31 PM   #788
miralami
Registered Member
 
miralami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: OC California
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by vhuang168 View Post
You can pop the heads off and rotate them 180deg.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks, I wasn't sure if I can do this.


miralami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/25/2017, 06:24 PM   #789
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
So, does anyone know a trick to getting DC AWC mode to actually turn on??? The AWC cycle just doesnt start at all....
I have it enabled, calibrated and saved. Test Pump 1 and Test Pump 2 work fine.

P.S Why is the weekly water change limited to 500l when it is in DC mode?


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/26/2017, 06:48 AM   #790
Jos1965
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 17
When come the app for the kore


Jos1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/26/2017, 10:45 AM   #791
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 366
@andrek
AWC procedure start at xx:50 of each hour.
Can you tell me which size of tank you have if you need to do more 5than 500 liters weekly water change? That limitations is set in software, we never had any questions about that but if you need replace more than 500L weekly - we will ask programers for increase maximum water change volume.

@Jos
We are talking about Android app right? If yes, it's almost finished and when it will be ready we will publish information also in this thread. It should be available very soon.


Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/26/2017, 12:15 PM   #792
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Przemek_PacSun View Post
@andrek
AWC procedure start at xx:50 of each hour.
Can you tell me which size of tank you have if you need to do more 5than 500 liters weekly water change? That limitations is set in software, we never had any questions about that but if you need replace more than 500L weekly - we will ask programers for increase maximum water change volume.
Przemek,

I moved the user time to xx.49.30. It beeped and started pumping on Pump 1 but after about 15 seconds it stopped and the other pump never turned on. I noticed the screen was blank while the pump was running. I left it alone and tried to catch it at xx.50 and I heard two beeps and nothing happened.

I am using the latest firmware and software available for download from the website. When the software is running and connected the bottom of the windows Shows software version 1.6C and firmware version shows 1.6E, however the title bar in the software 1.6e.


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/26/2017, 08:25 PM   #793
erik2302
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Yeah I've run into this error a LOT. I basically power cycle and soft reset til I get both pumps operating.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


erik2302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/26/2017, 09:28 PM   #794
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by erik2302 View Post
Yeah I've run into this error a LOT. I basically power cycle and soft reset til I get both pumps operating.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried that multiple times, no luck. I have a feeling PS didn't quite test the DC AWC function fully.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/27/2017, 05:42 AM   #795
Rudimenta
Registered Member
 
Rudimenta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ho Chi Minh
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by miralami View Post
Thanks, I wasn't sure if I can do this.
I have mine all the "wrong way around" no issue at all.


__________________
Not allowed to put your blog here ;)

Current Tank Info: 600 Display 200l Sump, 100l Nano, 7 tank clownbreeder
Rudimenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/27/2017, 12:37 PM   #796
Jos1965
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Przemek_PacSun View Post
@Jos
We are talking about Android app right? If yes, it's almost finished and when it will be ready we will publish information also in this thread. It should be available very soon.
Thx 😃


Jos1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/27/2017, 01:42 PM   #797
Jos1965
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Przemek_PacSun View Post
@Jos
We are talking about Android app right? If yes, it's almost finished and when it will be ready we will publish information also in this thread. It should be available very soon.
Thx 😃


Jos1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/27/2017, 02:23 PM   #798
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrek787 View Post
Przemek,

I moved the user time to xx.49.30. It beeped and started pumping on Pump 1 but after about 15 seconds it stopped and the other pump never turned on. I noticed the screen was blank while the pump was running. I left it alone and tried to catch it at xx.50 and I heard two beeps and nothing happened.

I am using the latest firmware and software available for download from the website. When the software is running and connected the bottom of the windows Shows software version 1.6C and firmware version shows 1.6E, however the title bar in the software 1.6e.
Are you using optical sensor?
It's required for AWC in latest software/firmware version since floating levels sensors are not supported anymore.


Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/27/2017, 02:26 PM   #799
Przemek_PacSun
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrek787 View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried that multiple times, no luck. I have a feeling PS didn't quite test the DC AWC function fully.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk
It shouldn't be any issue related to software/firmware. Everything depend from water amount replaced in single change.
If that amount is too small and level sensor will not react to water change - it will not dose "fresh" saltwater.
Be sure that your optical sensor is placed in last chamber and water levels are correct.


Przemek_PacSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/27/2017, 02:52 PM   #800
andrek787
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Przemek_PacSun View Post
It shouldn't be any issue related to software/firmware. Everything depend from water amount replaced in single change.
If that amount is too small and level sensor will not react to water change - it will not dose "fresh" saltwater.
Be sure that your optical sensor is placed in last chamber and water levels are correct.
The weekly water change amount is set to max of 500l, which translates to 3L per change. Pump 1 is calibrated to 210ml/min, so that means the pump should run for 14min. Only the Optical sensor is installed as main ATO sensor. As Tomasz suggested, I tried removing the Optical sensor out of water, before setting the xx.49.55 user time. Same result, pump stops before 1 min. Also tested, removing the sensor from the water after the pump started running. I also tested setting diffetent calibration values, result is the same.

Sent from my STV100-1 using Tapatalk


__________________
SCA starphire 150 gallon, custom Advanced Acrylics 50g sump, 3 x Hydra52 Hybrids, 2 x Gyre xf-150, 2 x Kessil A150 6700k fuge lights, ATI 250is Skimmer, Skimz RR-153 bio-pellet, Kore 5th Doser
andrek787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014