Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Invert and Plant Forums > Tridacnid Clams and other Mollusks
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 11/26/2008, 02:07 PM   #1
khanb31
SLim Jim

How to attach your clam easily and how to remove him!

Hello Hello RC.

As we all know, Clams are awesome, beautiful, and irresistible. Everyone that sees them gets big eyes and wants one. Well, in this thread I would like to take some of the ambiguity out of two things.

#1- How to properly attach your crocea/maxima clam to something usable.

#2- How to remove your clam from something that isnt usable.

Now, before I start, these are the things that I have observed from the clams that I own. I am definitely not an expert in clams. I am a mechanical engineer and have a good sense of recognizing patterns. Ive seen, recognized, and handled many clams and clam behavior thus far and I am just trying to pass on some of my findings. You must observe your own animals to find their patterns.

On with the show.

#1-

There are a lot of questions on what to do about attaching your clam to a rock or something similar. How do you do that though? Well lets try to understand how it moves first. Since this is a living creature, it moves. When it moves, it does two types of moving.

Movement

The first is it closes it shell rapidly. A clam is mainly filled with water when its shell is open so when it closes, the water pushes out of its holes/valves. Since it has control of three valves, (its intake siphon, out-put siphon, and abyssal glad) it can shoot water out of any one or any combination of these valves as it closes its shell rapidly.