Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/18/2019, 09:39 AM   #1
deputydog95
Registered Member

Switched Alk and Ca Chemicals and Now pH is Tanking. What do I do?

I had been using Seachem Reef Fusion for a couple of years, until I finally figured out that it was spiking my K to riddiculous levels (800).

While I was using reef fusion, my pH was typically around 8.1 ish at an alk of 8 dkh.

I switched to Red Sea's Ca and alk about a week ago and have been a pretty drastic drop in pH, despite still maintaining an alk of 8 dkh.

This morning it dropped to 7.6 ish. I'm a little concerned about the pH being this low.

I'm currently dosing Ca and alk on a 24 hour schedule.

pH seems to peak around 4 or 5pm, and bottoms out around 2 or 3am.

Any idea why this might be happening?
Anything I can do to counter this?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20190518-113404.jpg (33.2 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by deputydog95; 05/18/2019 at 09:46 AM.
deputydog95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/18/2019, 09:57 AM   #2
aaronpentz
Registered Member

Get in the habit of not chasing numbers.
Ph isn't a big deal if your tank is doing well. It's only an indicator. Also. When was the last time the probe was calibrated and or replaced. They have a useable life span so this should be part of regular maint. You should also verify this with a different not expired / recently calibrated test kit.

Dont adjust without secondary verification.

As far as the swing that's perfectly normal. The ph will rise with lights on and fall with lights off.

This is why some people run the refugium lights on the opposite cycle of the tank lights to help normalize this.

You can also dose calcium during the day and alk during the night

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Current Tank Info: 67 Long