Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 05/24/2017, 05:04 AM   #1
shieldsy_
Registered Member

Nassarius Snails

Hi All, I am new to the hobbie and have just purchased an Aquaone mini reef 120 litre. I have started the cycle with a bunch of dry rock and some live sand. The live sand came with 5 Nassarius Snails already in it. I am cycling my tank with bacteria in a bottle, the live sand and a bit of ghost feeding. I am just wondering if this is enough for the Nassarius snails to survive for the entire cycle? Calcium is currently at 480-500.

Thank you!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

shieldsy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/24/2017, 05:11 AM   #2
Cliving1
Registered Member

The snails will not survive the cycling process. Try to rehome them for the time being.

Cliving1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/24/2017, 08:01 AM   #3
mcgyvr
Registered Member

Its possible that they "may" survive.. I would just leave them in and see how it goes..

Unread 05/25/2017, 10:21 AM   #4
scooter31707
Registered Member

If you have no option of rehoming them, I would dose Prime/Amquel during the cycle.

scooter31707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/29/2017, 10:55 AM   #5
JDWells
Registered Member

In my experience snails and hermits are the first to go when parameters get out of control. Seems like they probably will die and if you can't find all the bodies you're going to end up putting unnecessary nutrients in the water. On top of being kind of messed up putting them in a situation that's probably bad for them.
Take them to a LFS and get more later. They're cheap and the LFS will probably, at the least, hook you up for more later.

JDWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05/30/2017, 04:19 AM   #6
shieldsy_
Registered Member

Ok thanks everyone!

Unread 05/30/2017, 04:35 AM   #7
mcgyvr
Registered Member