Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 08/20/2017, 11:24 AM   #1
wonder371
Registered Member

Advice on when to start tank for baby/kids

Hi Everyone,

How old do you think a kid should be to have a salt water tank in their room?

I'm a first time father with a 9 month old. My son loves going to aquariums and science museums with aquariums.

I'm obviously okay with doing 100% of the maintenance. I'm okay spending money on any and all safety devices. I am also okay spending more on quieter pumps/powerheads to limit noise. My son currently sleeps with a white noise machine and I thought it would be a good transition. He has also been a very good sleeper since birth.

Mind you this is my first time parenting and my number one concern is safety. I want to make sure there are ways to prevent the tank from falling over, him getting into the water, electrical, chemicals etc. I do have the ability to store chemicals and other equipment outside of his room. My second concern is it effecting his sleep (sound, light, the overall distraction of the tank itself, etc)

I've searched and I've seen a lot of posts recommending fresh water for kids. I'm not a huge fan of fresh water tanks and would like to avoid starting with fresh water if at all possible.

I'm okay waiting until he is older and/or developing the tank super slow. Ideally would not only something to look at but be bonding thing where we can pick out fish together and be more and more enriching and educational as he gets older.

Thoughts?

wonder371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08/20/2017, 01:29 PM   #2
Clowning_Around
Registered Member

Any particular reason not to place it in the family room for all to enjoy? Being in his room would likely restrict your opportune times of maintenance while he naps...

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk