Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Fish Only & Aggressive Tanks
Blogs FAQ Calendar

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/14/2014, 01:39 PM   #1
emrogers13
Registered Member

First Post -125g FOWLR Stocking Advice

Hello All,

Looking to get some advice from you all on a stocking list/order. I am new to the saltwater world and am in the process of setting up my first tank. It is a 125 gallon FOWLR with dual overflows, a 30g sump (with a skimmer) and live rock and sand.

Here is what I am hoping to add to the tank (and in the order I think I should add them to the tank...?). Before you have a panic attack please understand that I know these fish will have a large bio load and will need a larger tank in a few years. I do have plans to add an additional (larger tank) as soon as the rest of our home renovations are complete.

-majestic angelfish
-antennata or dwarf zebra lionfish
-huma huma trigger/niger trigger
-pair of maroon clowns
-flame/bicolor/coral beauty angelfish
-snowflake or zebra moray eel
-hippo tang/yellow tang/foxface

I recognize that these are all large, aggressive species for the most part. My questions for you experts are...

1)Is this list absolutely insane? If so, who would you nix? (PLEASE don't scream at me. I'm honestly just trying to learn as much as I can before I add fish and have a disaster on my hands. If I've seriously messed up this list let me know and I will heed your advice. I'm not out to torture fish just because I think they all look pretty.)

2)What problems should I expect to come up with these species all sharing a tank for a couple years?

3) Which species should I expect to need to move to a bigger tank? How soon should I expect to have to do this?

4) What (if anything) should I use as a cleaning crew?

5)Is this a correct order for adding these species?