Reef Central Online Community
SpectraPure

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03/19/2017, 08:09 PM   #1
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 186
Need help finding a power adapter

I have an ecotech Vectra L1 that's missing the power adapter. Well, I bought a bunch of used stuff and don't know if it's the adapter for the MP10 or the Vectra that I have, or which I am missing.

I know the adapter I have will work for the MP10 and the L1 pump. Here is the info on it:

autec power supply
Model: gpe072d-320225w
P/N: dt720d-320225w
Approval No.: gma-103322-ea-009

I don't mind a generic, but ecotech wants $150 for the replacement, and that's just ridiculous.

Thanks for the help.


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/19/2017, 08:29 PM   #2
salty joe
Registered Member
 
salty joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: medina, ohio
Posts: 2,372
Usually voltage and amperage requirements are listed on the appliance and the voltage and amperage output is listed on the adapter.

All you need to find out is what voltage and amperage is needed. If you find an adapter with the right voltage but higher amperage, that's fine. The right voltage but not enough amperage is not a good thing.

$150 for a wall wart is crazy, unless there's something special about it.


__________________
Time to roll the dice.
salty joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/19/2017, 09:09 PM   #3
snowwhite1234
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kuala lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 3
This is also the problem I am interested


snowwhite1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/19/2017, 09:21 PM   #4
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,727
Find out if it's the 36V version. It should say somewhere on the pump or the controller input.

I think it is 36VDC at 150W or less. Then go to amazon or ebay and get one.

https://www.amazon.com/T-Power-adapt.../dp/B00GU7MSWA

That looks in the ballpark. I think these pumps are also supposed to have built in intelligence (or the controller does) so if the power supply isn't sufficient - it won't run.

Given the massive inflation by the reef vendors, I'd give this a try personally.. but it's your pump.


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape
karimwassef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 06:27 PM   #5
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 186
It says:

Input: 100-240v 1.8A

Output: 32v 2250mA 72W

Based on this, I don't need to put the 36v one you posted on it, correct?


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 06:32 PM   #6
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 186
What do you think about this one? The plug end...is it just measured on the outside diameter? I know how to check polarity. This one doesn't show the usual symbol for it, but I can put a meter to it and find out. https://www.amazon.com/XINY-Switchin...witching+power


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/20/2017, 08:12 PM   #7
karimwassef
Registered Member
 
karimwassef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,727
Should work.

It's disturbing how much being a "reef pump adapter" inflates the cost of things. I get that everyone needs to make a profit and aquarium customers are low volume, but it's the same adapter used for a whole bunch of other applications...

Getting off my box.. it's an expensive "reef hobby" box so it costs 15x what a generic box costs


__________________
Failure isn't an option It's a requirement. 660g 380inwall+280smp/surge S/L/Soft/Maxima/RBTA/Clown/Chromis/Anthias/Tang/Mandarin/Jawfish/Goby/Wrasse/D'back. DIY 12' Skimmer ActuatedSurge ConcreteScape
karimwassef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 03:18 PM   #8
oreo57
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,394
$150 ABSOLUTE crazy price..and no guarantee it would last any longer than any other switching power supply.
I join you on your box..


oreo57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 04:01 PM   #9
Gorgok
Registered Member
 
Gorgok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 1,768
A proper name branded power supply would cost less than that by a long shot....

And i assume all they do is have the case (or maybe just the sticker) customized for them, internals are still whatever crap the rest have in them.


Gorgok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/21/2017, 04:25 PM   #10
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by salty joe View Post
Usually voltage and amperage requirements are listed on the appliance and the voltage and amperage output is listed on the adapter.

All you need to find out is what voltage and amperage is needed. If you find an adapter with the right voltage but higher amperage, that's fine. The right voltage but not enough amperage is not a good thing.

$150 for a wall wart is crazy, unless there's something special about it.
I have a conspiracy theory on these adapters...
They buy them cheap from china, and relabel them so it looks as if they are the only source to buy it. They either get them in an oddball milliamp, volt, or wattage, so they are the only source to buy it....and then they mark them up about 1000%.

I actually talked to an electrical engineer at work today. He helped me pick out one that I think will work fine, and it was about $20 shipped. Provided it works, I'll post it up.


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/22/2017, 08:34 AM   #11
perkint
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 775
My MP10QD​ is 24V, MP40QD​ is 32V and M1 is 36V - bluddy annoying. The PSU for the MP10 failed so i swapped it for a mean well one for about $40. Have spare 36V PSUs so not worried about the M1, and just about to pick up a mean well HLG-60H-30A (the A model has adjustable voltage so can be tweaked to 32V) for the MP40. I'd rather get splash or waterproof Mean Well ones for less money than an Ecotech one, even if i do have to add my own connections!

For the L1 it looks like it's 130W and 36V. I'd look at the LPV-150-36. Maybe the LPV-35-24 for the MP10 as that is (assuming it's the same as mine) 24V and Ecotech say the MP10QD is less than 20W.

Tim


perkint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03/23/2017, 09:20 PM   #12
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 186
I ordered one for $16.80 and it works like a charm.

The story, to make sure I don't mislead anybody unintentionally:

I bought an L1 as part of a tank breakdown package. Turns out that I didn't get the power adapter. I then bought a new MP40. A few weeks later, an old mag24 return pump failed, so I wanted to put the L1 in its place. I borrowed the adapter off of the MP40 and put it on the L1. It worked well, so I wanted to find another cord so I could use both pumps.

Therefore, I can't really say that this power adapter is exactly what comes with the L1 pump. I just know I've run it for about a week and a half without any problems at all. I'm pumping up about 11ft and it puts out enough that I can't run it wide open or the overflow begins getting pretty noisy.

Here is the part I bought: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/30/2017, 09:35 PM   #13
BlueRoofTang
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 186
anybody have specs on the OEM adapter for the L1?


BlueRoofTang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014