Reef Central Online Community

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Unread 01/14/2019, 08:07 PM   #1
Runfrumu
Hi

Question on power compact ballast

Yes I know, I need to upgrade my fixture, but does anyone know a ballast that would push the 96 watt bulbs in the old current outer orbit? Im pretty sure when I replaced the halide ballasts that there were 2 PC ballasts and that one ballast pushed 2 of the PC bulbs.

I'm a novice with ballasts and such. I can replace them when I have the right stuff, but really dont know what's compatible with what and whats cross compatible.

Thanks in advance.

Current Tank Info: 125 gallon oceanic tank, Lighthouse Pro XLS, 72" outer orbit fixture, H&S 150-F2000/1 skimmer, H&S 110 Calcium Reactor, Tunze 7096, 2 Tunze 6105's , Tunze Osmolator, Prime 1/4hp drop-in chiller. 5 years running. Red Sea Max, 3 years.
Runfrumu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/14/2019, 08:18 PM   #2
mrtint
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runfrumu View Post
Yes I know, I need to upgrade my fixture, but does anyone know a ballast that would push the 96 watt bulbs in the old current outer orbit? Im pretty sure when I replaced the halide ballasts that there were 2 PC ballasts and that one ballast pushed 2 of the PC bulbs.

I'm a novice with ballasts and such. I can replace them when I have the right stuff, but really dont know what's compatible with what and whats cross compatible.

Thanks in advance.

I just took apart the coral Vue version about 10 minutes ago. It had (2) HQI medal halides (2) 96w power compacts and moon LED’s. I ripped it apart for the metal halides but this unit has (2) ballast in it

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mrtint is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01/14/2019, 09:21 PM   #3
mrtint
Registered Member